Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 3: Unley – Paracombe

Tour Down Under 2020 stage 3Thursday 23 January - At 131 kilometres, the 3rd stage on the Tour Down Under is a hilly endeavour with 2,614 vertical metres. The finish climb into Paracombe is 1.2 kilometres long and slopes at 9.9%.

The stage sends the peloton out of Unley into the Adelaide Hills. This happens in style as the first 6 kilometres climb at approximately 6%. Either climbing or descending at shallow gradients, the riders make their way to Cudlee Creek to tackle two local circuits.

Firstly, the route continues through the Chain of Ponds to reach Inglewood for a circuit linking it to Houghton and Paracombe. After four times 11 kilometres the race doubles back towards Cudlee Creek. Still some 10 kilometres left, although all the action will be centered on the last 1.5 kilometres.

The riders have to dig deep for the final climb of the day into Paracombe. The arrival at Torrens Hill Road is the only KOM-climb in stage 2. And rightly so: the riders face 1.2 kilometres at 9.9% before the last 300 metres are flat.

The Torrens Hill finish pepped up the Tour Down Under twice before. In 2015, Rohan Dennis took the spoils and three years ago it was Richie Porte who won the race.

Two intermediate sprints – at kilometre 84 and kilometre 95 – come with 3, 2 and 1 seconds each, while the first three riders one the line take time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds.

Another interesting read: results 3rd stage 2020 Tour Down Under.

Tour Down Under 2020 stage 3: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour Down Under 2020 Overview - Tour Down Under 2020 Holmes wins on Willunga Hill, Porte takes overall - Tour Down Under 2020 Nizzolo wins final sprint, Impey new leader - Tour Down Under 2020 Second sprint victory Ewan, Porte still leader - Tour Down Under 2020 Ewan outguns Impey in uphill sprint to move into race lead - Tour Down Under 2020 Bennett sprints to first ochre jersey - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 1: Tanunda – Tanunda - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 2: Woodside – Stirling - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 4: Norwood – Murray Bridge - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 5: Glenelg – Victor Harbor - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 6: McLaren Vale – Willunga Hill - Tour Down Under 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!