Tour Down Under 2020: Nizzolo wins final sprint, Impey new leader

Giacomo Nizzolo powers to victory in Victor Harbor. The Italian outguns his compatriot Simone Consonni and Sam Bennett in the last sprint of this year's Tour Down Under. Daryl Impey wins 5 bonus seconds and leads the GC 2 seconds ahead of Richie Porte with only 'his' Willunga Hill stage left. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 5th stage Tour Down Under

1. Giacomo Nizzolo (ita) s.t.
2. Simone Consonni (ita) s.t.
3. Sam Bennett (irl) s.t.
4. Michael Mørkøv (den) s.t.
5. Jasper Philipsen (bel) s.t.
6. André Greipel (ger) s.t.
7. Kristoffer Halvorsen (nor) s.t.
8. Caleb Ewan (aus) s.t.
9. Fabio Felline (ita) s.t.
10. Daryl Impey (rsa) s.t.

1. Daryl Impey (rsa)
2. Richie Porte (aus) + 0.02
3. Robert Power (aus) + 0.09
4. Simon Yates (gbr) + 0.13
5. George Bennett (nzl) + 0.16
6. Diego Ulissi (ita) + 0.17
7. Simon Geschke (ger) + 0.17
8. Rohan Dennis (aus) + 0.17
9. Dylan van Baarle (nld) + 0.17
10. Lucas Hamilton (nzl) + 0.25

Race report
Axel Domont is the first rider to go on the attack, but he is brought back after 29 kilometres, just 5 kilometres from the first intermediate sprint. World Champion Mads Pedersen does a good job for his leader Richie Porte denying Daryl Impey the 3 seconds bonus, but the title defender still takes 2, while Robert Power crosses the line in third.

Impey rides into the ochre jersey by winning the second sprint, at kilometre 56, ahead of Jasper Philipsen and Pedersen before Ian Stannard, Ben Gastauer, Michael Schwarzmann and Joey Rosskopf initiate a proper breakaway. Thomas De Gendt, Jorne Arcas, Sam Wellsford and Iljo Keisse bridge to the four, which is too much fire power according to the peloton and the break is shut down.

A new move with Mads Pedersen, Josef Cerny, Ian Stannard and Ide Schelling make it to Kerby Hill, where Schelling is the last attacker to be caught. The sprinters are dropped on the climb, but most of them make it back with 6 kilometres remaining.

Still, the peloton has been halved when Cameron Meyer flies through the last corner with 600 metres to go. The fast men overhaul him and Giacomo Nizzolo takes a demanding victory ahead of Simone Consonni and Sam Bennett.

Impey is the new overall leader. Porte is just 2 seconds behind though with Robert Power 7 more seconds in arrears.

Porte has been imperious on the Willunga Hill stage, dominating the race in the last six years. Once again, it seems to come down to time bonuses in the Tour Down Under…

Last year, Impey finished third on Willunga Hill in the same time as Porte.

Another interesting read: route 5th stage Tour Down Under 2020.

Tour Down Under 2020 stage 5: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Giacomo Nizzolo

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour Down Under 2020 Overview - Tour Down Under 2020 Holmes wins on Willunga Hill, Porte takes overall - Tour Down Under 2020 Second sprint victory Ewan, Porte still leader - Tour Down Under 2020 Porte climbs to leader's jersey in Paracombe - Tour Down Under 2020 Ewan outguns Impey in uphill sprint to move into race lead - Tour Down Under 2020 Bennett sprints to first ochre jersey - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 1: Tanunda – Tanunda - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 2: Woodside – Stirling - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 3: Unley – Paracombe - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 4: Norwood – Murray Bridge - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 6: McLaren Vale – Willunga Hill - Tour Down Under 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!