Tour Down Under 2020: Holmes wins on Willunga Hill, Porte takes overall

Breakaway rider Matthew Holmes takes a surprise victory on Willunga Hill. Richie Porte joins the 26-year old Briton on the last climb and lets him ride to victory on the final straight. Porte wins the GC ahead of Diego Ulissi and Simon Geschke, while overnight leader Daryl Impey drops back to sixth place. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 6th stage Tour Down Under

1. Matthew Holmes (gbr)
2. Richie Porte (aus) + 0.03
3. Manuele Baro (ita) + 0.04
4. Bruno Asrmirail (fra) + 0.07
5. Michael Storer (aus) s.t.
6. Diego Ulissi (ita) s.t.
7. Simon Geschke (Ger) s.t.
8. Rohan Dennis (aus) s.t.
9. Dylan van Baarle (nld) s.t.
10. Simon Yates (gbr) s.t.

1. Richie Porte (aus)
2. Diego Ulissi (ita) + 0.25
3. Simon Geschke (ger) s.t.
4. Rohan Dennis (aus) s.t.
5. Dylan van Baarle (nld) s.t.
6. Daryl Impey (rsa) + 0.30
7. Simon Yates (gbr) + 0.37
8. George Bennett (nzl) + 0.46
9. Lucas Hamilton (aus) + 0.52
10. Hermann Pernsteiner (aut) + 0.54

Race report
Early on a huge breakaway takes shape. On board are Kiel Reijnen, Matthew Holmes, Jonathan Dibben, Mathias Le Turnier, Kenneth Van Bilsen, Shane Archbold, Iljo Keisse, Luke Rowe, Joey Rosskopf, André Greipel, Rick Zabel, Vegard Stake Laengen, Marco Marcato, Cesare Benedetti, Manuele Boaro, Michael Storer, Bruno Armirail, Juri Hollmann, Dylan Sunderland, Bert-Jan Lindeman, Domen Novak, Marco Haller, Mitchell Docker, Jonas Rutsch, Sam Welsford and Cameron Scott.

The lead group puts more then 4 minutes into the peloton before tackling the finish climb on Willunga Hill. Leader Daryl Impey struggles when Porte accelerates, while Storer, Rutsch and Holmes are the strongest men at the front.

Porte joins Holmes before the 26-year old Briton rides away on the final straight. Stage win for Holmes, Porte wins the GC.

Another interesting read: route 6th stage Tour Down Under 2020.

Tour Down Under 2020 stage 6: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Richie PorteMattew Holmes

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour Down Under 2020 Overview - Tour Down Under 2020 Nizzolo wins final sprint, Impey new leader - Tour Down Under 2020 Second sprint victory Ewan, Porte still leader - Tour Down Under 2020 Porte climbs to leader's jersey in Paracombe - Tour Down Under 2020 Ewan outguns Impey in uphill sprint to move into race lead - Tour Down Under 2020 Bennett sprints to first ochre jersey - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 1: Tanunda – Tanunda - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 2: Woodside – Stirling - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 3: Unley – Paracombe - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 4: Norwood – Murray Bridge - Tour Down Under 2020 Route stage 5: Glenelg – Victor Harbor - Tour Down Under 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!