Tirreno-Adriatico 2022: Merlier sprints to triumph, Ganna stays in yellow

Tim Merlier ta - Tirreno-Adriatico 2022: Merlier sprints to triumph, Ganna still leaderfoto: Cor VosMarc Soler attacks inside the last 20 kilometres of the 2nd stage in a bid to surprise the sprinters. But to no avail. He is caught before Tim Merlier powers to victory. Filippo Ganna stays in the race lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2nd stage 2022 Tirreno-Adriatico

1. Tim Merlier (bel)
2. Olav Kooij (nld) s.t.
3. Kaden Groves (aus) s.t.
4. Peter Sagan (svk) s.t.
5. Simone Consonni (ita) s.t.
6. Phil Bauhaus (ger) s.t.
7. Davide Ballerini (ita) s.t.
8. Giacomo Nizzolo (ita) s.t.
9. Jacopo Guarnieri (ita) s.t.
10. Andrea Vendrame (ita) s.t.

GC after stage 2
1. Filippo Ganna (ita)
2. Remco Evenepoel (bel) + 0.11
3. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 0.17
4. Kasper Asgreen (den) + 0.24
5. Alex Dowsett (gbr) + 0.25
6. Thymen Arensman (nld) + 0.28
7. Tobias Ludvigsson (swe) + 0.32
8. Jos van Emden (nld) + 0.33
9. Mikkel Bjerg (den) + 0.39
10. Matteo Sobrero (ita) s.t.

Race report
Francesco Gavazzi, Davide Bais, Umberto Marengo, Davide Gaburro and Johnatan Cañaveral attack early on to carve out a lead of 8 minutes before the peloton takes the reins.

Two leaders remain with 60 kilometres to go: Gaburro and Marengo.

Marc Soler attacks from the peloton inside the last 20 kilometres. The Spaniard gobbles up the two and forges on alone. He opens up a 35 seconds gap before it starts to come down.

The catch is made with 3 kilometres to go before Tim Merlier brings the bacon home in the ensuing bunch sprint. Young guns Olav Kooij and Kaden Groves round out the podium.

The GC remains unchanged, with Filippo Ganna leading ahead of Remco Evenepoel en Tadej Pogacar.

Another interesting read: route 2nd stage 2022 Tirreno-Adriatico.

Tirreno-Adriatico 2022 stage 2: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Tim Merlier

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
GC Favourites - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Tirreno - Adriatico 2022: Overview Sprint triumph Bauhaus, Pogacar wins GC - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Pogacar extends lead with Queen Stage win - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Solo triumph Barguil, Pogacar still leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Pogacar wins in Bellante to take race lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Sprint triumph Ewan, Ganna still leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Ganna storms to leader's jersey - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Stage 1: Starting times ITT - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 1: ITT Lido di Camaiore - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 3: Murlo - Terni - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 4: Cascate della Marmore - Bellante - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 5: Sefro - Fermo - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 6: Apecchio - Carpegna - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 7: San Benedetto del Tronto - San Benedetto del Tronto - Tirreno-Adriatico 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!