Tirreno-Adriatico 2022: The Route

Tirreno-Adriatico 2022The 2022 Tirreno-Adriatico set off on Monday 7 March and finished seven stages later on Sunday the 13th.

Contrary to what we’re used to this year’s Tirreno does not end but begins with an ITT. Stage 1 travels on 13.9 kilometres of flat road along the Tyrrhenian Sea.

The 2nd stage is the longest race of this edtion – hilly in the first part, flat in the second. The first chance for the fast men.

Stage 3 takes in a mix of flat sections and more accidented terrain, offering the sprinters the second opportunity to shine.

The following two days are perfect for puncheurs. Stage 4 includes an elevation gain of more than 3,000 metres, while the 3.8 kilometres finish climb averages 7%.

Stage 5 is the so-called Tappa dei Muri. The finale in particular is packed with double digit ramps. To pep things further up it takes place on narrow stone-paved streets of the historical town of Fermo.

The Tirreno-Adriatico serves the Queen Stage on the penultimate day. In the last 35 kilometres the riders tackle a double ascent of Monte Carpegna – 6.2 kilometres at 9.6% – before an ensuing drop to the line.

The last stage finishes on a pan-flat circuit in San Benedetto del Tronto. The lap is repeated five times before an inevitable bunch sprint concludes the Race of the Two Seas.

Tirreno-Adriatico 2022: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Sprint triumph Bauhaus, Pogacar wins GC - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Pogacar extends lead with Queen Stage win - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Solo triumph Barguil, Pogacar still leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Pogacar wins in Bellante to take race lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Sprint triumph Ewan, Ganna still leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Merlier sprints to triumph, Ganna stays in yellow - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Ganna storms to leader's jersey - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Stage 1: Starting times ITT - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 1: ITT Lido di Camaiore - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 2: Camaiore - Sovicille - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 3: Murlo - Terni - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 4: Cascate della Marmore - Bellante - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 5: Sefro - Fermo - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 6: Apecchio - Carpegna - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 7: San Benedetto del Tronto - San Benedetto del Tronto - Tirreno-Adriatico 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!