Ruta del Sol 2019: The Route

Tim Wellens - Ruta del Sol 2019: The RouteThe 2019 Ruta del Sol is played out from 20 February to 24 February. In terms of GC, the five-day stage race in Andalucia probably comes down to the punchy finale on day one, a hilly ITT halfway through the race, and the Queen Stage on the fourth day of action. Tim Wellens is title defender. (Slideshow route/profile)

The 1st stage of the Ruta del Sol is a hilly race to a short and sharp final climb in Alcalá de los Gazules, where Tim Wellens took the spoils in last year’s edition. The Belgian attacked with Mikel Landa shortly after the base of the partly cobbled climb to the line.

The 2nd stage is played out on a mostly flat course between Sevilla to Torredonjimeno. So we should see the sprinters to battle it out for the day honours.

GC men and time trialists are expected at the forefront in stage 3 as the race is a 16.2 kilometres ITT. The Puerto de 7 Pilillas – 4.8 kilometres at 3.6% – serves as an intermediate slope between Mancha Real and La Guardia de Jaén.

The Vuelta a Andalucia includes its Queen Stage on the fourth day. At merely 120 kilometres, the route takes in four climbs before a downhill finale into Granada. The massive Alto de Hazallanas – 16.2 kilometres at 5.7% – is the last climb of the day.

The 5th stage travels through the middle mountains from Otura to a false flat finish in Alhaurín de la Torre.

Ruta del Sol 2019: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
2 comment(s)

  • James says:

    Will you be adding you Giro favourites per stage? Some of my favourite content on the internet each year 🙂

    • Harmen Lustig says:

      Thank you, James. Yes, we will be adding those. The first two Giro Favorites per stage – 1 and 6 – are already online.

Related articles
Sprint victory Trentin in last stage, Fuglsang wins GC - Ruta del Sol 2019 Simon Yates wins Queen Stage, Jakob Fuglsang new leader - Ruta del Sol 2019 Wellens cements GC lead with ITT win - Ruta del Sol 2019 Sprint victory Trentin, Wellens retains lead - Ruta del Sol 2019 Defending champion Tim Wellens wins 1st stage - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 1: Sanlúcar de Barrameda – Alcalá de los Gazules - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 2: Sevilla - Torredonjimeno - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 3: Mancha Real - La Guardia de Jaén - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 4: Armilla - Granada - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 5: Otura - Alhaurín de la Torre - Ruta del Sol 2019
More articles