Ruta del Sol 2019: Sprint victory Trentin, Wellens retains lead

The 2nd stage in the Ruta del Sol is played out on a predominantly flat course. In the streets of Torredonjimeno Matteo Trentin seizes the opportunity to sprint to victory ahead of Danny van Poppel and Iván Garcia. Tim Wellens stays in the overall lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2nd stage Ruta del Sol 2019

1. Matteo Trentin (ita)
2. Danny van Poppel (nld) s.t.
3. Iván García (spa) s.t.
4. Enrique Sánz (spa) s.t.
5. Manuel Belletti (ita) s.t.
6. Andrea Pasqualon (ita) s.t.
7. Edward Planckaert (bel) s.t.
8. Vincenzo Albanese (ita) s.t.
9. Michaël Van Staeyen (bel) s.t.
10. Carlos Barbero (spa) s.t.

GC after stage 2
1. Tim Wellens (bel)
2. Jakob Fuglsang (den) + 0.05
3. Jack Haig (aus) + 0.05
4. Jon Izagirre (spa) + 0.05
5. Marco Canola (ita) + 0.09
6. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 0.09
7. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) + 0.09
8. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 0.09
9. Antwan Tolhoek (nld) + 0.09
10. Guillaume Martin (fra) + 0.13

Race report
Shortly after the start Van Melsen, Kulikovskiy, Viel, Orsini, Lopez-Cozar and Zhyhunou jump clear and they race to a lead of 7 minutes before the peloton takes them on a leash. With 26 kilometres remaining the breakaway is reeled in.

Iván García opens up the sprint early, but Matteo Trentin overhauls the Spaniard in side the last 100 metres. The European champion wins the race centimetres ahead of Danny van Poppel.

Ensuing read: route 2nd stage 2019 Ruta del Sol.

Ruta del Sol 2019 stage 2: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Matteo Trentin

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Ruta del Sol 2019 Overview - Ruta del Sol 2019 Sprint victory Trentin in last stage, Fuglsang wins GC - Ruta del Sol 2019 Simon Yates wins Queen Stage, Jakob Fuglsang new leader - Ruta del Sol 2019 Wellens cements GC lead with ITT win - Ruta del Sol 2019 Defending champion Tim Wellens wins 1st stage - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 1: Sanlúcar de Barrameda – Alcalá de los Gazules - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 3: Mancha Real - La Guardia de Jaén - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 4: Armilla - Granada - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 5: Otura - Alhaurín de la Torre - Ruta del Sol 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!