Ruta del Sol 2019: Defending champion Tim Wellens wins 1st stage

Stage 1 on the Ruta del Sol is a hilly race with its finish atop a short and sharp climb. Title defender Tim Wellens powers to victory to take the overall lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 1st stage Ruta del Sol 2019

1. Tim Wellens (bel)
2. Jakob Fuglsang (den) s.t.
3. Jon Izagirre (spa) s.t.
4. Jack Haig (aus) s.t.
5. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 0.09
6. Pello Bilbao (spa) s.t.
7. Marco Canola (ita) s.t.
8. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) s.t.
9. Antwan Tolhoek (nld) s.t.
10. Guillaume Martin (fra) + 0.13

GC after stage 1
1. Tim Wellens (bel)
2. Jakob Fuglsang (den) + 0.05
3. Jon Izagirre (spa) s.t.
(see above)

Race report
Seven riders open up a gap after 20 kilometres. Van Staeyen, Cuadros, Ermenault, Pessot, Samitier, Bol and Cuadrado put almost 3 minutes into the peloton.

The attackers are reeled in with 25 kilometres remaining. Mitchelton-Scott and Astana set the pace and a reduced peloton is heading for the final ramp.

Dries Van Gestel attacks with Matteo Montaguti inside the last 6 kilometres, but they are brought back before the steep incline to the line. Ion Izagirre moves to the front on a flat intermezzo halfway, but Tim Wellens surges away on the cobbles of the last 200 metres. He opens up a gap of 5 seconds for a repeat victory after his 2018 success in the same finale. Jakob Fuglsang, Ion Izagirre and Jack Haig finish in the same time, while Steven Kruijswijk leads another group at 9 seconds.

Ensuing read: route 1st stage 2019 Ruta del Sol.

Ruta del Sol 2019 stage 1: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Tim Wellens

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Ruta del Sol 2019 Overview - Ruta del Sol 2019 Sprint victory Trentin in last stage, Fuglsang wins GC - Ruta del Sol 2019 Simon Yates wins Queen Stage, Jakob Fuglsang new leader - Ruta del Sol 2019 Wellens cements GC lead with ITT win - Ruta del Sol 2019 Sprint victory Trentin, Wellens retains lead - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 2: Sevilla - Torredonjimeno - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 3: Mancha Real - La Guardia de Jaén - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 4: Armilla - Granada - Ruta del Sol 2019 Route stage 5: Otura - Alhaurín de la Torre - Ruta del Sol 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!