Paris-Nice: Hero Sean ‘King’ Kelly

Sean Kelly - 7 times winner Paris-NiceParis-Nice suits an all-rounder. In order to win the race you need to be competitive in the time-trial, to climb with the best and to ride in whatever weather conditions the French Spring decides to greet you with. Win the race seven times in a row? Well, that takes something special, and a rider who is a specialist in all of the above. Enter Mr Sean Kelly.

Kelly flew in from rural Ireland and took the cycling world by storm in the 80’s. He could sprint, time-trial and climb and it seemed the more it rained, the greater his winning margin. His palmares are incredible, the very definition of an all-rounder, and he set the bar for which future champions are judged.

Four green jerseys in the Tour, multiple stage wins, multiple Monuments won multiple times, not to mention a Grand Tour win in the Vuelta. Kelly was also the World number 1 for five years running (1984-1988).

The only races to really escape him were the Tour of Flanders, where he was second on three occasions, and the Tour de France, where his highest overall position was fourth in 1985.

It became evident that the very high mountains of the Tour were the only terrain where Kelly really suffered. Paris-Nice suited him perfectly however. After his fellow Irishman and great rival Stephen Roche had taken the 1981 edition of the race, Kelly set off on an incredible winning streak from 1982 to 1988, often with Roche as his main rival for the overall in what was total Irish domination of the race in the 80’s.

It’s a record that is unlikely to be beaten. Laurent Jalabert took three in a row in the 90’s, but there isn’t an active rider who has even won consecutive titles. ‘King Kelly’s’ record looks safe for the forseeable future.

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Overview - Paris - Nice 2024 Winners and records - Paris-Nice Evenepoel wins in Nice, Jorgenson takes GC triumph - Paris-Nice 2024 Vlasov wins at Madone d’Utelle, McNulty retains yellow - Paris-Nice 2024 Skjelmose wins sprint-à-trois, McNulty regains yellow - Paris-Nice 2024 Kooij wins in Sisteron, Plapp still leader - Paris-Nice 2024 Solo triumph Buitrago, Plapp takes GC lead - Paris-Nice 2024 UAE Team Emirates wins TTT, McNulty new leader - Paris-Nice 2024 Stage 3: Start times TTT - Paris - Nice 2024 De Kleijn powers to victory, Pithie new leader - Paris-Nice 2024 Kooij sprints to first leader's jersey - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 1: Les Mureaux - Les Mureaux - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 2: Thoiry - Montargis - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 3: Auxerre - Auxerre - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 5: Saint-Sauveur-de-Montagut - Sisteron - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 6: Sisteron - La Colle-sur-Loup - Paris-Nice 2024 Route stage 7: Nice - Madone d'Utelle - Paris-Nice 2024
More articles