Critérium du Dauphiné 2022 Route stage 1: La Voulte-sur-Rhône - Beauchastel

Sunday 5 June - The Critérium du Dauphiné opens with a hilly race through the Ardèche. The 192 kilometres route travels from La Voulte-sur-Rhône to Beauchastel, two places that are just 4 kilometres apart.

The 1st stage is played in the Ardèche from start to finish. The riders clip into their pedals in La Voulte-sur-Rhône to tackle two seperate loops. In doing so, they crest the Côte de Chambon de Bavas twice, which is a 4.8 kilometres climb at 5.2%. Also, the route moves twice through Privas, where Wout van Aert sprinted to victory in the 2020 Tour de France.

Although the route of the opener is predominantly hilly, the finale is flat. On the wide roads along the Rhône the riders charge towards the line in Beauchastel.

Last year, Brent Van Moer won the Dauphiné’s 1st stage from the breakaway.

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles

More articles