Critérium du Dauphiné 2022 Route stage 8: Saint-Alban-Leysse - Plateau de Solaison

Criterium du Dauphine 2022 stage 8Sunday 12 June - The final stage of the Critérium du Dauphiné is expected to detonate the fireworks. The race is 139.2 kilometres long, takes in three intermediate climbs, and finishes on Plateau de Solaison. That's a 11.3 kilometres toil at 9.2%.

The Dauphiné visited the Plateau de Solaison for the last time in 2017. That day, Chris Froome put heavy pressure on his former lieutenant Richie Porte. The Tasmanian started the stage in the leader’s jersey with Froome in second, but at the end of the day Jakob Fuglsang won both the stage and the GC.

This year’s Plateau de Solaison stage is also an open invite to go all out from the start. The riders tackle the Col de Plainpalais straight away, a climb of 8.8 kilometres at 6.5%. Then they descend to the foot of the Col des Leschaux. Which means 7.9 kilometres of climbing at 4.5%.

The race is 30 kilometres underway on the Col des Leschaux. A flat to undulating intermediate phase takes the riders to the base of the Col de la Colombière. This ascent is 11.8 kilometres long and averages 5.8%. Still 38 kilometres to go at the top.

The first 15.5 kilometres are on descent before some 11 kilometres on the flat usher in the finish climb. The first 4 kilometres are entirely double digit material. The ascent then continues at 8-10% until the last 1.3 kilometres level out a bit. The Plateau de Solaison adds up to 11.3 kilometres and the average gradient sits at 9.2%.

The first three riders on the line gain time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds, while the intermediate sprint comes with 3, 2 and 1 seconds.

Ride the route yourself? Download GPX stage 8.

Another interesting read: results 8th stage & final GC 2022 Critérium du Dauphiné.

Critérium du Dauphiné 2022 stage 8: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
GC Favourites - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Overview - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Verona wins in Vaujany, Roglic takes yellow - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Ferron wins from breakaway, Van Aert still in yellow - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Yellow jersey Van Aert storms to second stage win - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Ganna wins ITT, Van Aert stays in yellow - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Start times ITT - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Gaudu wins uphill, Van Aert takes back yellow - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Vuillermoz wins from the breakaway to take race lead - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Van Aert sprints to first yellow jersey - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 1: La Voulte-sur-Rhône - Beauchastel - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 2: Saint-Péray - Brives-Charensac - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 3: Saint-Paulien - Chastreix-Sancy - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 4: Montbrison - La Bâtie d'Urfé - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 5: Thirzy-les-Bourgs - Chaintré - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 6: Rives - Gap - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 7: Saint-Chaffrey - Vaujany - Critérium du Dauphiné 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!