Tirreno-Adriatico: Recent winners

nairo quintana 2017 - Tirreno-Adriatico: Recent winnersTirreno-Adriatico is essentially the Italian version of Paris-Nice, with grand tour specialists often choosing one of the two races in which to gauge their form before bigger goals. The race features a solid mix of mountains, time-trials and flat stages. Recent winners like Nibali and Cadel Evans know the positive effect a result here can have on future ambitions.

Recent winners Tirreno-Adriatico

2017: Nairo Quintana (col)
2016: Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2015: Nairo Quintana (col)
2014: Alberto Contador (spa)
2013: Vincenzo Nibali (ita)
2012: Vincenzo Nibali (ita)
2011: Cadel Evans (aus)
2010: Stefano Garzelli (ita)
2009: Michele Scarponi (ita)
2008: Fabian Cancellara (swi)
2007: Andreas Klöden (ger)
2006: Thomas Dekker (nld)
2005: Óscar Freire (spa)
2004: Paolo Bettini (ita)
2003: Filippo Pozzato (ita)
2002: Erik Dekker (nld)
2001: Davide Rebellin (ita)
2000: Abraham Olano (spa)

Tirreno-Adriatico records

Vincenzo Nibali did win Tirreno-Adriatico in 2012 and 2013 and is one of three riders to win two editions on the bounce, Italian legend Francesco Moser and Belgian Roger De Vlaeminck being the others. De Vlaeminck holds the incredible record of winning Tirreno six times in a row, dominating the field between 1972 and 1977.

Remarkably, The Cannibal Eddy Merckx never won Tirreno-Adriatico, one of the few races to escape the Belgian.

If we talk stage wins, Roger De Vlaeminck is record holder too. He pocketed fifteen stages in the Tirreno-Adriatico, while Peter Sagan’s palmares amounts to seven.

Tirreno-Adriatico: Instagram and Tweets

Click on the images to zoom.

Cadel EvansAlberto ContadorFabian CancellaraNairo QuintanaVincenzo NibaliGreg van AvermaetMichele Scarponi

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
Log on with Facebook

No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.
Related articles
Overview - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 1: TTT in Lido di Camaiore - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 2: Camaiore - Follonica - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 3: Follonica - Trevi - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 4: Foligno - Sassotetto - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 5: Castelraimondo - Filottrano - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 6: Numana - Fano - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 7: ITT San Benedetto del Tronto - Tirreno-Adriatico 20
More articles