Tirreno-Adriatico: Winners and records

Primoz Roglic ta - Tirreno-Adriatico: Winners and recordsimage: Cor VosTirreno-Adriatico is essentially the Italian version of Paris-Nice, with grand tour specialists often choosing one of the two races in which to gauge their form before bigger goals. Cyclingstage.com brings you the records and recent winners in the Race of the Two Seas.

Recent winners Tirreno-Adriatico

2024: ?
2023: Primoz Roglic (slo)
2022: Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2021: Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2020: Simon Yates (gbr)
2019: Primoz Roglic (slo)
2018: Michal Kwiatkowski (pol)
2017: Nairo Quintana (col)
2016: Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2015: Nairo Quintana (col)
2014: Alberto Contador (spa)

Tirreno-Adriatico records

Tadej Pogacar won the Race of the Two Seas in 2021 and 2022 and is one of four riders to win two editions on the bounce, Italian legends Vincenzo Nibali and Francesco Moser plus Belgian Roger De Vlaeminck being the others. De Vlaeminck holds the incredible record of winning Tirreno six times in a row, dominating the field between 1972 and 1977.

Remarkably, The Cannibal Eddy Merckx never won Tirreno-Adriatico. It is one of the few races to escape the Belgian.

When talking about stage wins, Roger De Vlaeminck is record holder too. He pocketed fifteen stages in the Tirreno-Adriatico, while Peter Sagan’s palmares adds up to seven.

Alberto ContadorFabian CancellaraNairo QuintanaMichal KwiatkowskiVincenzo NibaliGreg van AvermaetPrimoz RoglicSimon YatesTadej PogacarTirreno – Adriatico 2024

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.