Tirreno-Adriatico 2018 Route stage 1: TTT in Lido di Camaiore

Tirreno Adriatico 2018 stage 1Wednesday, 7 March 2018 - The Tirreno-Adriatico starts with a team time trial on the Tyrrhenian coast. At 21.5 kilometres, the route is fast and flat.

For the third time in a row, the Race of the Two Seas starts with a team trial in Lido di Camaiore. The race on the Tyrrhenian coast has seen BMC triumph for the last two years.

The route is almost a copy of last year’s TTT. It’s slightly shorter, but that’s the only difference and the essence is the same. The opening stage is played out on long straight roads. Only four 90-degree turns halfway, so we can expect high speeds.

Last year, BMC won the race 17 seconds ahead of Quick-Step Floors and 22 seconds ahead of FDJ and Movistar. So Nairo Quintana was in a perfect position to win the overall, which he did. Sky’s leader Geraint Thomas was forced to chase from day one onward as Sky was plagued by punctures and lost 1’42” on the TTT. Eventually, Thomas finished almost 1 minute down on Quintana.

Lido di Camaiore is a borough belonging to Camaiore, where pro-cycling race Gran Premio Città di Camaiore has been held from 1966 to 2014. Diego Ullisi was the last winner before the race was discontinued.

Read also: results/report 1st stage 2018 Tirreno-Adriatico.

Tirreno-Adriatico 2018 stage 1: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Overview - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Stage 7: Rohan Dennis wins time trial, Kwiatkowski takes GC - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Stage 6: Sprint win Kittel, Kwiatkowski retains in yellow - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Stage 5: Adam Yates solos to win, Michal Kwiatkowski new leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Stage 4: Landa wins Queen Stage, Caruso new leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Stage 3: Roglic wins on steep wall, Thomas new leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Stage 2: Kittel outsprints Sagan and Bevin takes overall lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 2: Camaiore - Follonica - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 3: Follonica - Trevi - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 4: Foligno - Sassotetto - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 5: Castelraimondo - Filottrano - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 6: Numana - Fano - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 7: ITT San Benedetto del Tronto - Tirreno-Adriatico 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!