Tirreno-Adriatico 2018: Favourites

tom dumoulin 2017 - Tirreno-Adriatico 2018: FavouritesTraditionally, the Tirreno-Adriatico features flat stages, punchy finales, time trials and a summit finish in the high mountains. So to win the overall you have to be a climber, and time trialling skills won't hurt either. Cyclingstage.com brings you the major contenders to win the 2018 Tirreno-Adriatico. (Slideshow route/profile)

Usually, the Queen Stage at the Tirreno-Adriatico is decisive for the overall victory, while riders earn beer money in the time trials and hilly stages with punchy arrivals. This edition’s Queen Stage travels to ski resort Sassotetto. At almost 220 kilometres it’s a gruelling taks with a sheer endless intermediate hills, while the final ascent is 13.1 kilometres at 7.1%. Snow is a possible threat, which would make the race even harder.

In 2015 and 2017 climbed to victory on the Tirreno’s Queen Stage before he won the GC in both editions. Two years ago the Queen stage was cancelled because of snow and the battle for the overall came down to a Greg van Avermaet/Peter Sagan clash, which would in a normal scenario never have happened. Basically, the 2016 turned out to be a hilly stage race – with Van Avermaet turning out on top.

You can’t win the race on your time trial bike, but you can definitely lose it – ask Geraint Thomas. Last year, BMC won the TTT with Quintana’s Movistar 22 seconds down on them, while Team Sky was plagued by punctures and lost 1’20” to Movistar. At the end of the eight-day race Quintana took the overall almost 1 minute ahead of Thomas.

Of the active riders, Vincenzo Nibali (2012, 2013) and Nairo Quintana (2015, 2017) did win the Tirreno-Adriatico twice. Davide Rebelline (2001 – and yes, he is still racing) and Greg Van Avermaet (2016) are one-time winners.

Favourites 2018 Tirreno-Adriatico

*** Richie Porte, Tom Dumoulin, Vincenzo Nibali, Chris Froome
** Mikel Landa, Fabio Aru, Miguel Ángel López, Michal Kwiatkowski, Geraint Thomas
* Bob Jungels, Rohan Dennis, Romain Bardet, Primoz Roglic, Rafal Majka

Tirreno-Adriatico 2018: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom.

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
Log on with Facebook

No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.
Related articles
Recent winners - Tirreno-Adriatico Route stage 1: TTT in Lido di Camaiore - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 2: Camaiore - Follonica - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 3: Follonica - Trevi - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 4: Foligno - Sassotetto - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 5: Castelraimondo - Filottrano - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 6: Numana - Fano - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 7: ITT San Benedetto del Tronto - Tirreno-Adriatico 20
More articles