Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 Route stage 4: Montalto di Castro – Terminillo

Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 stage 4Saturday, 11 March 2017 - At 171 kilometres, stage 4 in the Tirreno-Adriatico travels to a summit finish on Monte Terminillo. The route takes in two more climbs, yet the piece de resistance is the 16.1 kilometres closing climb. Peaking at 1,675 metres this is the Queen Stage.

Two years ago the Tirreno-Adriatico also saw a summit finish on Monte Terminillo. Nairo Quintana attacked with 5 kilometres to go and rode alone through a snowstorm to take the stage, ultimately leading to his overall that edition.

The route of the Queen Stage in the 2017 Tirreno-Adriatico takes off on rolling roads. Two intermediate climbs – La Colonnetta at kilometre 57 and Pie di Morra at kilometre 127.5 kilometre – are perfect to stretch the legs before the closing climb kick in.

Following the descent of Pie di Morra a flat section of around 10 kilometres takes the riders to a preliminary climb to Castelfranco. Then a short drop leads to the base of the final climb to ski-resort Terminillo. At 16.1 kilometres, the ascent is averaging 7.3%, while the steepest ramps are 12%.

Last year, the queen stage in the Tirreno-Adriatico was cancelled due to heavy snowfall. The closing climb and mid-stage climbs were all impassable.

The first three riders on the line take time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds, while the two intermediate sprints (after 47,8 en 126,3 kilometres) come with 3, 2 and 1 seconds.

Results/race report 4th stage Tirreno-Adriatico 2017.

Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 stage 4: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 Overview - Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 Rohan Dennis powers to ITT win, while Nairo Quintana takes the overall - Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 Gaviria outsprints Sagan on the line, Quintana retains lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 Sagan winst dramatic finale, Quintana still leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 Sagan powers to victory, Dennis new leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 Geraint Thomas solos to victory, Van Avermaet new leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 BMC wins TTT and Caruso first leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 Route stage 1: TTT in Lido di Camaiore - Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 Route stage 2: Camaiore – Pomarance - Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 Route stage 3: Monterotondo Marittimo – Montalto di Castro - Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 Route stage 5: Rieti - Fermo - Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 Route stage 6: Ascoli Piceno - Civitanova Marche - Tirreno-Adriatico 2017 Route stage 7: ITT in San Benedetto del Tronto - Tirreno-Adriatico 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!