Volta a Catalunya: Winners and records

Adam Yates cata - Volta a Catalunya: Winners and recordsimage: Cor VosThe Volta a Catalunya is a stage race dating back to 1911 and held in March, just after Paris-Nice and the Tirreno-Adriatico. Typically, the race takes in a mix of sprint stages and races in the high mountains, while time trials are rare. Cyclingstage.com brings you the recent winners along with the records.

Recent winners Volta a Catalunya

2022: ?
2021: Adam Yates (gbr)
2020: cancelled
2019: Miguel Ángel López (col)
2018: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2017: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2016: Nairo Quintana (col)
2015: Richie Porte (aus)
2014: Joaquim Rodríguez (spa)

Records in the Volta a Catalunya
Spain took by far the most GC wins at the Catalan stage race and therefore it is not surprising a Spaniard holds the record of most victories. In the period 1928-1939 Mariano Cañardo was the ruthless ruler with seven wins. After him Miguel Indurain and Alejandro Valverde come closest with three victories each.

If we are talking stage wins Miguel Poblet is in a class of his own. From 1947 to 1960 he pocketed 33 stages.

Joaquim RodriguezAlberto ContadorDaniel MartinNairo QuintanaRichie PorteAlejandro ValverdeAdam YatesMiguel Angel Lopez

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Route stage 2: L’Escala – Perpignan - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 3: Perpignan – La Molina - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 4: La Seu d’Urgell – Boí Taüll - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 5: La Pobla de Segur – Vilanova i la Geltrú - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 6: Salou – Cambrils - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 7: Barcelona - Barcelona - Volta a Catalunya 20
More articles