UAE Tour 2022: GC Favourites

Tadej pogacar - UAE Tour 2022: Favouritesfoto: Cor VosThe top 3 of 2021 - Tadej Pogacar, Adam Yates, João Almeida - returns to the UAE Tour to compete the first UCI World Tour race of 2022. takes a closer look at the GC contenders.

The GC battle on the UAE Tour comes down to three stages. The 3rd stage is a flat individual time of 9 kilometres long before the first of two mountain finishes happens on the fourth day of action. Jebel Jais climbs for 20 kilometres with gradients hovering around 5%.

Jebel Jais was included twice in the UAE Tour, and on both occassions the climb was not hard enough to open up any significant time gaps. The winners on the climb were Primoz Roglic and Jonas Vingegaard, both finishing just a handful of seconds before most other GC contenders.

The finish climb on the last day, Jebel Hafeet, is a different story. This is a 10.8 kilometres climb at 6.6% with the section between kilometre 4 and 8 sloping at 8% to 9%. In 2020, Adam Yates attacked in this part of the climb and he finished roughly 1 minute ahead of his rivals.

It’s not always like that – last year, Tadej Pogacar outgunned Adam Yates on Jebel Hafeet in a two-up sprint – but chances are that the winner on Jebel Hafeet will also take the overall.

Three of the former winners of the UAE Tour are racing in the emirates, namely Pogacar and Yates.

Favourites UAE Tour 2022

*** Adam Yates, Tadej Pogacar, João Almeida
** Daniel Felipe Martínez, Sepp Kuss, Alexey Lutsenko, Wout Poels
* Iván Sosa, Alejandro Valverde, Jack Haig, Emanuel Buchmann, Sergio Higuita

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Pogacar winst last stage and GC - UAE Tour 20 Vacek wins five-up sprint, Pogacar still leader - UAE Tour 20 Second triumph Philipsen, Pogacar still leader - UAE Tour 20 Pogacar sprints to win and leader's jersey on Jebel Jais - UAE Tour 20 Bissegger powers to ITT triumph and GC lead - UAE Tour 20 Sprint victory Cavendish, Philipsen still leader - UAE Tour 20 Route stage 1: Madinat Zayed – Madinat Zayed - UAE Tour 20 Route stage 2: Hudayriyat Island – Abu Dhabi Breakwater - UAE Tour 20 Route stage 3: Ajman – Ajman - UAE Tour 20 Route stage 4: Fujairah Fort – Jebel Jais - UAE Tour 20 Route stage 5: Ras al Khaimah Corniche – Al Marjan Island - UAE Tour 20 UAE Tour 2022 Route stage 6: Expo 2020 Dubai – Expo 2020 Dubai Route stage 7: Al Ain – Jebel Hafeet - UAE Tour 20 Sprint triumph and leader's jersey Philipsen - UAE Tour 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!