Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 2: Norwood - Angaston

Tour Down Under 2019 stage 2Wednesday, 16 January 2019 - The 2nd stage of the Tour Down Under travels from Norwood to Angaston. At 122.1 kilometres, the route takes in one climb in the early stages of the race, so it's fair to expect a bunch sprint.

Angaston hosted Tour Down Under finales in 2012 and 2014 and on both occasions Australians turned out on top. Five year’s ago Simon Gerrans outsprinted a decimated peloton – the finale was pepped up by Menglers Hill -, while Matthew Goss won the bunch sprint in 2012.

No hurdles in 2019’s finale, although the last 2 kilometres are a false flat with an average slope of 2.3%. Some sections rise at 4% – yet, a bunch sprint is the most likely outcome.

Following the start in Norwood the peloton navigates the Adelaide Hills to tackle Checker Hill with 24.2 kilometres done. Following the 2.1 kilometres climb at 5.5% the riders continue on rolling roads to Birdwood, Springton, Bethany, Greenock, Nuriootpa and, eventually, Angaston.

Last year’s 2nd stage ran from Unley to a bunch sprint in Stirling. Caleb Ewan outgunned Daryl Impey and Jay McCarthy.

The first three riders on the line take time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds, while the intermediate sprints (at kilometre 39.2 and at kilometre 57.9) come with 3, 2 and 1 seconds.

Another interesting read: results 2nd stage.

Tour Down Under 2019 stage 2: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour Down Under 2019 Overview - Tour Down Under 2019 Porte wins stage 6 as Impey takes GC - Tour Down Under 2019 Sprint victory Philipsen, Bevin crashes but retains lead - Tour Down Under 2019 Stage 4: Impey wins ahead of Bevin, who retains GC lead - Tour Down Under 2019 Sagan wins hilly 3rd stage, Bevin still leader - Tour Down Under 2019 Viviani sprints to victory and ochre jersey in stage 1 - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 1: North Adelaide - Port Adelaide - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 3: Lobethal - Uraidla - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 4: Unley - Campbelltown - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 5: Glenelg - Strathalbyn - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 6: McLaren Vale - Willunga Hill - Tour Down Under 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!