Tour Down Under 2019: Favourites

Mostly won by Australians, last year's Tour Down Under saw Daryl Impey seize power. The South African is eyeing up a second consecutive win, but faces strong competition by the likes of Rohan Dennis and Richie Porte. brings you the favourites to win the 2019 Tour Down Under.

[This article was written in the week before the start of the Tour Down Under and has not been updated.]

The only European rider to win the overall in the last five editions was Tom-Jelte Slagter (2013), while Daryl Impey (South Africa) took the GC by suprise in 2018.

The Tour Down Under is a race for the hilly specialists. Just take a look at the record holder. Simon Gerrans is a four time winner, pocketing the GC in 2006, 2012, 2014 and 2016. The route is tailor made for the type of rider the retired Australian was.

The battle for the overall win probably comes down to time bonuses and the final climb up Willunga Hill on the last day of action. Moving the ascent from Saturday to the final Sunday should keep the GC battle exciting until the last day. Willunga Hill is a 3 kilometres climb at 7%.

Richie Porte is the king of Willunga Hill. He won the race in last five editions. Last year, Daryl Impey limited his losses on Willunga Hill to 8 seconds, which led to him winning the GC in the same time as Porte.

As alway, the heat could play a key role Down Under. Obviously, rising temperatures are advantageous to home riders, who have acclimatised better to the conditions than riders from more wintry climate zones.

Former winners at the start of the 2019 Tour Down Under are Luis León Sánchez (2005), Tom-Jelte Slagter (2013), Rohan Dennis (2015), Richie Porte (2017) and title defender Daryl Impey.

Favourites 2019 Tour Down Under

***** Richie Porte, Rohan Dennis
**** Michael Valgren, Wout Poels, Michael Woods
*** Daryl Impey, Diego Ulissi, Tom-Jelte Slagter
** Jay McCarthy, Luis León Sánchez, Peter Sagan
* Robert Gesink, Pierre Latour, Nathan Haas

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Porte wins stage 6 as Impey takes GC - Tour Down Under 2019 Sprint victory Philipsen, Bevin crashes but retains lead - Tour Down Under 2019 Stage 4: Impey wins ahead of Bevin, who retains GC lead - Tour Down Under 2019 Sagan wins hilly 3rd stage, Bevin still leader - Tour Down Under 2019 Bevin snatches 2nd stage to take GC lead - Tour Down Under 2019 Viviani sprints to victory and ochre jersey in stage 1 - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 1: North Adelaide - Port Adelaide - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 2: Norwood - Angaston - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 3: Lobethal - Uraidla - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 4: Unley - Campbelltown - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 5: Glenelg - Strathalbyn - Tour Down Under 2019 Route stage 6: McLaren Vale - Willunga Hill - Tour Down Under 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!