Tour de Suisse 2017: Superior sprint victory Sagan, Spilak retains in overall lead

Peter Sagan is in a class of his own in the hilly criterium of 100 kilometres in Schaffhausen. The World Champion powers to his fifteenth stage win in the Tour de Suisse ever. Simon Spilak holds on to yellow. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 8th stage 2017 Tour de Suisse

1. Peter Sagan (svk) s.t.
2. Sacha Modolo (ita) s.t.
3. Matteo Trentin (ita) s.t.
4. Magnus Cort (den) s.t.
5. Niccolo Bonifazio (ita) s.t.
6. Michael Matthews (aus) s.t.
7. John Degenkolb (ger) s.t.
8. Oscar Gatto (ita) s.t.
9. Kevin Reza (fra) s.t.
10. Salvatore Puccio (ita) s.t.

GC after 8th stage
1. Simon Spilak (slo)
2. Damiano Caruso (ita) + 0.52
3. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 1.05
4. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) + 2.28
5. Rui Costa (por) + 2.35
6. Mathias Frank (swi) + 2.51
7. Mikel Nieve (spa) + 2.54
8. Ion Izagirre (spa) + 3.51
9. Marc Soler (spa) + 4.07
10. Pelle Bilbao (spa) + 4.10

Race report
From the gun it’s attackers alert. Nick van der Lijke, Jelle Wallays, Jaco Venter and KOM king Lasse Norman Hansen jump clear to race to a maximum lead of almost 2 minutes. Round after round Hansen outsprints his rival Van der Lijcke on the only KOM climb of the day to win the mountain jersey.

The four attackers are reeled in with 13 kms remaining.

In the ensuing sprint Peter Sagan storms to victory, bike lengths ahead of Modolo, thus adding to his record tally of 15 victories at the Tour de Suisse.

The GC remains unchanged, although all GC contenders ended up behind a split in the peloton.

Read also: route 8th stage 2017 Tour de Suisse.

Tour de Suisse 2017 stage 8: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Peter Sagan

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tour de Suisse 2017 Overview - Tour de Suisse 2017 Rohan Dennis wins ITT in Schaffhausen, Simon Spilak takes overall victory - Tour de Suisse 2017 Spilak solos to victory and race lead on Tiefenbachferner - Tour de Suisse 2017 Pozzovivo wins in La Punt to take yellow jersey - Tour de Suisse 2017 Peter Sagan powers to victory, Caruso retains in lead - Tour de Suisse 2017 Warbasse solos to mountain victory, Caruso new leader - Tour de Suisse 2017 Stage win and leaders jersey Michael Matthews - Tour de Suisse 2017 Sprint victory Philippe Gilbert, Stefan Küng new leader - Tour de Suisse 2017 Rohan Dennis powers to stage win and leaders jersey in short ITT - Tour de Suisse 2017 Route stage 1: ITT in Cham - Tour de Suisse 2017 Route stage 2: Cham - Cham - Tour de Suisse 2017 Route stage 3: Menziken – Bern - Tour de Suisse 2017 Route stage 4: Bern – Villars sur Ollon - Tour de Suisse 2017 Route stage 5: Bex – Cevio - Tour de Suisse 2017 Route stage 6: Locarno – La Punt - Tour de Suisse 2017 Route stage 7: Zernez – Sölden (Aut) - Tour de Suisse 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!