Tirreno-Adriatico 2021: GC Favourites

The Tirreno-Adriatico boasts and incredible strong GC line up. The Queen Stage to Prati di Tivo will be a huge test, while the conclusive San Benedetto del Tronto ITT usually comes down to seconds. Who are the major contenders to win the overall classification?

[Underneath article was written before the start of the Tirreno and has not been updated]

The Race of the Two Seas is played out on a classic parcours. There is one mountain stage rising literally above all other stages. The race to Prati di Tivo, where Nibali won in 2012 and Froome in 2013, is expected to open the first time gaps in the GC before stage 5 – the so-called Tappa dei Muri – is likely to bring compelling racing without having a huge impact on in-form GC riders.

The flat ITT San Benedetto del Tronto on the Adriatic sea front passes the final verdict on the last day of action. The race has brought its fair share of close finishes in recent years. Two year ago Primoz Roglic was 26 seconds faster than Adam Yates and he won the GC 1 second ahead of the Briton.

Simon Yates learned a his brother’s lesson. Last year, he lost time to his rival Geraint Thomas, but took the GC anyway – with a 17 seconds margin. The defining race of that edition was the Queen Stage, which was won by Yates, 35 seconds ahead of Geraint Thomas and Rafal Majka, who eventually finished in second and third overall.

Five contenders have tasted the sweetness of overall success at the Tirreno-Adratico: Nibali (2012, 2013), Quintana (2015, 2017), Van Avermaet (2016), Kwiatkowski (2018), and title defender Yates.

Pogacar is the only participant who won a stage race in 2021. The Tour de France Champion took the UAE Tour ahead of Adam Yates and João Almeida.

Favourites 2021 Tirreno-Adriatico

***** Egan Bernal, Tadej Pogacar
**** Simon Yates, Geraint Thomas, Julian Alaphilippe
*** Sergio Higuita, João Almeida, Mikel Landa, Thibaut Pinot
** Nairo Quintana, Pello Bilbao, Rafal Majka, Jakob Fuglsang
* Romain Bardet, Giulio Ciccone, Marc Soler, Wout Van Aert

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Van Aert wins ITT, Pogacar seals GC triumph - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Stage 7: Starting times ITT - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 7: San Benedetto del Tronto - San Benedetto del Tronto - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Würtz Schmidt wins five-up sprint, Pogacar keeps GC lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 1: Lido di Camaiore - Lido di Camaiore - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 2: Camaiore - Chiusdino - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 3: Monticiano - Gualdo Tadino - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 4: Terni - Prati di Tivo - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 5: Castellalto - Castelfidardo - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Route stage 6: Castelraimondo - Lido di Fermo - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Van der Poel solos to victory, Pogacar cements lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Stage win and GC lead Pogacar in Queen Stage - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Van der Poel outguns Van Aert, who keeps GC lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Uphill sprint triumph Alaphilippe, Van Aert still leader - Tirreno-Adriatico 20 Van Aert sprints to first leader's jersey - Tirreno-Adriatico 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!