Giro 2022: Buitrago solos to victory, Carapaz still in pink

Santiago Buitrago - Giro 2022: Buitrago solos to victory, Carapaz still in pinkfoto: Cor VosSantiago Buitrago solos to victory in the Alpine stage to Lavarone. Gijs Leemreize finishes in second, Jan Hirt in third. Richard Carapaz keeps the pink jersey ahead of Jai Hindley, while Mikel Landa moves up to third. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 17th stage 2022 Giro

1. Santiago Buitrago (col)
2. Gijs Leemreize (nld) + 0.35
3. Jan Hirt (cze) + 2.28
4. Hugh Carthy (gbr) s.t.
5. Richard Carapaz (ecu) + 2.53
6. Jai Hindley (aus) s.t.
7. Mauri Vansevenant (bel) + 2.57
8. Koen Bouwman (nld) + 2.59
9. Guillaume Martin (fra) s.t.
10. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.

14. João Almeida (por) + 4.03

GC after stage 17
1. Richard Carapaz (ecu)
2. Jai Hindley (aus) + 0.03
3. Mikel Landa (spa) + 1.05
4. João Almeida (por) + 1.54
5. Vincenzo Nibali (nld) + 5.48
6. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 6.19
7. Jan Hirt (cze) + 7.12
8. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 7.13
9. Juan Pedro López (spa) + 12.27
10. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) + 12.30

Race report
The riders climb from the start and the rainy conditions make it extra hard. Hugh Carthy, Thymen Arensman, Felix Gall and Attila Valter open a gap. The Hungarian can’t follow and Alessandro Covi takes his place.

The four crest the Passo Tonale together, while Jan Hirt, Giulio Ciccone, KOM leader Koen Bouwman, Sam Oomen, Gijs Leemreize, Mathieu van der Poel, Mauri Vansevenant, Antonio Pedrero, Santiago Buitrago, Lorenzo Fortunato, Rein Taaramäe, Guillaume Martin, Attila Valter, Nicolas Prodhomme, Filippo Zana, Luca Covili, Simone Ravanelli, Diego Andrés Camargo, Damien Howson, David de la Cruz and Diego Rosa bridge across on descent.

Bouwman outsprints Ciccone and Rosa for KOM points in Giovo.

Van der Poel accelerates on a small climb with 65 kilometres to go. Gall, Martin and Covi track him down to open a 1.20 minutes gap.

Covi can’t follow the pace in the last 4 kilometres of the Passo del Vetriolo, while Carthy, Bouwman, Buitrago, Hirt and Leemreize replace him at the front. Bouwman cements his KOM lead at the summit.

Leemreize and Van der Poel distance the others on descent. The two Dutchmen tackle the Menador 1.30 minutes ahead of the chasers.

Van der Poel goes alone on the early slopes, but Leemreize regains contact in the last 3 kilometres of the climb. Now it’s his turn to leave his compatriot behind.

While Almeida can’t follow the pace in the GC group, Buitrago starts his hunt for the stage win. He gobbles up Van der Poel and catches Leemreize with 500 metres left to climb. A double accelation by the Colombian and he enters the descent in first position.

Buitrago distances Leemreize in the downhill and solos to victory.

The GC group overhauls the remnants in the streets of Lavarone. Carapaz opens the sprint and while Hindley follows him like a shadow, Landa can’t. The Basque finishes 6 seconds behind his rivals, but he can take comfort in the fact that he moves up third place overall, as Almeida reaches the finish 1.04 minute after him.

Obviously, Carapaz stays in pink, still 3 seconds ahead of Hindley.

Another interesting read: route 17th stage 2022 Giro d’Italia.

Giro d’Italia 2022 stage 17: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Santiago Buitrago

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
1 comment(s)

Related articles
Bouwman cements KOM lead - Giro 20
More articles