Giro 2022: Hirt wins race over the Mortirolo, Carapaz keeps pink

Jan hirt - Giro 2022: Hirt wins race over the Mortirolo, Carapaz keeps pinkimage: Cor VosBreakaway rider Jan Hirt wins the 16th stage ahead of Thymen Arensman. Jai Hindley bestst Richard Carapaz in the sprint for third place, but the Ecadorian keeps the pink jersey. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 16th stage 2022 Giro

1. Jan Hirt (cze)
2. Thymen Arensman (nld) + 0.07
3. Jai Hindley (aus) + 1.24
4. Richard Carapaz (ecu) s.t.
5. Alejandro Valverde (spa) s.t.
6. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.
7. Lennard Kämna (ger) + 1.38
8. João Almeida (por) s.t.
9. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) + 2.06
10. Hugh Carthy (aus) + 2.13

12. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) + 4.11
14. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) s.t.

GC after stage 16
1. Richard Carapaz (ecu)
2. Jai Hindley (aus) + 0.03
3. João Almeida (por) + 0.44
4. Mikel Landa (spa) + 0.59
5. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) + 3.40
6. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) + 3.48
7. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 3.51
8. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 4.45
9. Jan Hirt (cze) + 7.42
10. Alejandro Valverde (spa) + 9.04

12. Thymen Arensman (nld) + 10.23

Race report
Pascal Eenkhoorn, Thomas De Gendt and Christopher Juul-Jensen jump off the front early on. Mathieu van der Poel, Nans Peters and Mark Cavendish track them down. The six open up a gap of 1 minute, but the peloton keeps chasing. Several riders – among others Giulio Ciccone, Lennard Kämna, Thymen Arensman, Alejandro Valverde, Hugh Carthy, Alejandro Valverde and Guillaume Martin – bridge across after almost 40 kilometres, while Simon Yates, Wilco Kelderman and Koen Bouwman rejoin the leaders on the Goletto di Cadino.

Ciccone bests Bouwman in the KOM sprint at the top.

The lead group splits in two on the flat run-up to the Mortirolo. Kämna, Rota, Valverde, Arensman, Cataldo, Poels, Bouwman and Hamilton (Chris) reach the foot of the Mortirolo 1 minute ahead of Kelderman, Carthy, Fortunato, Vansevenant, Ciccone, Martin (Guillaume), Yates (Simon), Formolo, Moniquet, Bais, and Hirt.

Cataldo waits for the chasers in assistance of his team mate Ciccone. He pulls for awhile and then Ciccone heads out with Carthy and Hirt in his wheel. Moments before regaining contact with the lead group Ciccone is distanced by Carthy and Hirt. He fades away in the last kilometres of the climb.

Bouwman cements his KOM lead at the top before he loses contact on the steep climb to Teglio. Kämna is the first rider at the summit and he distances his companions on descent. The German enters the Santa Christina climb 30 seconds ahead of the chasers, which he doubles up in the first kilometres.

Poels waits for the Bahrain Victorious train in the lead of the GC group, while Arensman goes after Kämna with 14 kilometres to go. Hirt leaves Valverde en Carthy behind. The Czech rejoins Arensman 3.5 kilometres before the summit.

Landa accelerates on the lower slopes with Carapaz and Hindley in his wheel, while Arensman and Hirt gobble up Kämna. Moments later Hirt heads out on his own.

Hirt reaches the summit 15 seconds ahead of Arensman. The group Carapaz is 1 minute further behind.

Arensman closes in on descent, but not enough to sprint for the win. Hirt takes the biggest win of his career in Aprica.

Hindley outsprints Carapaz for third place and takes a time bonus of 4 seconds. Only 3 seconds remaining between Carapaz en the Australian, while Almeida still sits in third place, although 14 seconds further behind.

Another interesting read: route 16th stage 2022 Giro d’Italia.

Giro d’Italia 2022 stage 16: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Jan Hirt

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Bouwman cements KOM lead - Giro 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!