Giro 2022: De Bondt wins from breakaway, Carapaz still leader

Dries de Bondt - Giro 2022: De Bondt wins from breakaway, Carapaz still leaderfoto: Cor VosDries De Bondt outsprints Edoardo Affini, Magnus Cort and Davide Gabburo in Treviso, while Richard Carapaz keeps the maglia rosa. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 18th stage 2022 Giro

1. Dries De Bondt (bel)
2. Edoardo Affini (ita) s.t.
3. Magnus Cort (den) s.t.
4. Davide Gabburo (ita) s.t.
5. Alberto Dainese (ita) + 0.14
6. Arnaud Démare (fra) s.t.
7. Davide Cimolai (ita) s.t.
8. Mark Cavendish (gbr) s.t.
9. Fernando Gaviria (col) s.t.
10. Simone Consonni (ita) s.t.

72. Juan Pedro López (ita) + 2.57

GC after stage 18
1. Richard Carapaz (ecu)
2. Jai Hindley (aus) + 0.03
3. Mikel Landa (spa) + 1.05
4. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) + 5.48
5. Pello Bilbao (spa) + 6.19
6. Jan Hirt (cze) + 7.12
7. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 7.13
8. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) + 12.30
9. Juan Pedro López (spa) + 15.10
10. Hugh Carthy (gbr) + 17.03

Race report
The breakaway – Dries De Bondt, Magnus Cort, Davide Gabburo, Edoardo Affini – takes shape after 10 kilometres. The four open up a maximum gap of almost 3 minutes.

With a local lap of 13 kilometres remaining the gap of the leaders has fallen to 1.11 minutes.

The peloton comes too late and Dries De Bondt outsprints his companions in the streets of Treviso, while Richard Carapaz stays in pink. Nibali moves up to fourth place since Almeida is out of the Giro after a positive COVID-19 test.

Another interesting read: route 18th stage 2022 Giro d’Italia.

Giro d’Italia 2022 stage 18: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Dries De Bondt

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Bouwman keeps KOM lead - Giro 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!