Giro 2014 Report Stage 9: Weening wins from breakaway

It keeps getting better for Orica-Greenedge on this Giro. Pieter Weening attacked out of the breakaway with 20 kiometres remaining, winning the stage after a 2-up sprint with Malacarne. Evans stays in pink. (Slideshow route/profile)

The break away eventually took shape after 56 kilometres and was made up of 14 riders: Julien Berard (AG2R La Mondiale), Enrico Barbin (Bardiani CSF), Marco Bandiera (Androni Giocatolli), Jackson Rodriguez (Androni Giocatolli), David Tanner (Belkin), Oscar Gatto (Cannondale), Leonardo Duque (Colombia), Matteo Bono (Lampre-Merida), Jonathan Monsalve (Neri Sottoli), Tosh Van der Sande (Lotto-Belisol), Salvatore Puccio (Team Sky), Eduard Vorganov (Katusha), Pieter Weening (Orica-GreenEdge) and Davide Malacarne (Europcar). The gap grew steadily to a maximum of around 8 minutes.

With 20 kilometres remaining, Pieter Weening attacked, taking his companions by surprise. Malacarne eventually made his way up to the Dutchman. With a gap of 3 and a half minutes over the peloton with one climb remaining, the duo clearly had a chance.

Despite looking exhausted, they made their way up the climb and Weening was a picture of cool in the final kiloemtre, refusing to move to the front with as much as 800 metres remaining. Malacarne launched his sprint with 200 metres to go but Weening easily came around for the win.

Back in the GC gorup, the only action came from Pozzovivo, who attacked and took 3rd on the stage, taking back some time on his rivals.

Evans remains in pink while Orica-Greenedge’s amazing Giro continues, despite a bad crash for former leader and stage winner Matthews.

Results 9th stage Giro 2014

1. Pieter Weening (Nld)
2. Davide Malacarne (ita) s.t.
3. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) +0:42
4. Diego Ulissi (ita) +1:08
5. Rigoberto Uran Uran (col) s.t.
6. Wilco Kelderman (Nld) s.t.
7. Cadel Evans (aus) s.t.
8. Dario Cataldo (ita) s.t.
9. Rafal Majka (pol) s.t.
10. Fabio Andres Duarte Arevalo (col) s.t.

GC after stage 9
1. Cadel Evans (aus)
2. Rigoberto Uran Uran (col) +0:57
3. Rafal Majka (pol) +1:10
4. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) +1:20
5. Steve Morabito (Swi) +1:31
6. Fabio Aru (ita) +1:39
7. Diego Ulissi (ita) +1:43
8. Wilco Kelderman (Nld) +1:44
9. Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (col) +1:45
10. Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) +1:48

Giro 2014 Stage 9: Images and more!

Click on the images to zoom

Pieter Weening

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Riders and teams - Giro 2014 Favourites - Giro 2014 Withdrawals - Giro 2014 Results - Giro 2014 The Route - Giro 2014
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!