Giro 2014 Stage 8 Report: Ulissi climbs to 2nd stage win

Diego Ulissi took his 2nd stage win of this year's Giro, beating Robert Kiserlovski to the line. Cadel Evans is the new GC leader after Michael Matthews was dropped on the early climbs. (Slideshow route/profile)

The break was made up of 10 riders, amongst them Julian Arredondo and birthday boy Edvald Boasson Hagen. Riders began to drop out of the break as soon as the climbing started whilst back in the peloton, Michael Matthews waved goodbye to the pink jersey as he was finally dropped by the climbers after a dream week in pink.

Perrig Quemeneur, Julian Arredondo, Boassen Hagen and Stefano Pirazzi were the last survivors up front, but on the slopes of the Capergna Arredondo stomped on the pedals Colombian style and went alone. He had a 2 minute lead on the peloton as he crested the summit.

Pierre Rolland escaped the chasing pack and accompanied his teammates Quemeneur and Pirazzi who were still up the road. It was a smart move by the Frenchman, one that would see him almost nab a stage win.

On the final climb, Rolland finally caught the exhausted Arredondo and dropped him soon after.

In the group of favourites, the impressive Morabito was pacing Evans and the bunch up to Montecopiolo. The pace was high and while there were a couple of digs, there was no meaningful attack launched, with favourites Uran and Quintana staying quiet.

Rolland surged ahead but was brought back when Moreno kicked out of the bunch, looking very much like a man on his way to a stage win. His legs seemed to decieve him however just seconds after passing Rolland.

Kiserlovski was next to go but the Croatian champion ony succeeded in providing the perfect lead out for Diego Ulissi, who easily came around to claim his 2nd stage win of this year’s Giro.

Dutchman Wico Kederman was an impressive 3rd, while Quintana was 4th, 2 seconds ahead of the new pink jersey wearer Cadel Evans.

Results 8th stage Giro 2014

1. Diego Ulissi (ita)
2. Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) s.t.
3. Wilco Kelderman (Nld) +0:06
4. Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (col) s.t.
5. Cadel Evans (aus) +0:08
6. Rigoberto Uran Uran (col) s.t.
7. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) s.t.
8. Rafal Majka (pol) +0:14
9. Fabio Aru (ita) +0:17
10.Ryder Hesjedal (can) +0:20

GC after stage 8
1. Cadel Evans (aus)
2. Rigoberto Uran Uran (col) +0:57
3. Rafal Majka (pol) +1:10
4. Steve Morabito (Swi) +1:31
5. Fabio Aru (ita) +1:39
6. Diego Ulissi (ita) +1:43
7. Wilco Kelderman (Nld) +1:44
8. Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (col) +1:45
9. Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) +1:49
10. Domenico Pozzovivo (ita) +1:50

Giro 2014 stage 8: Images and more!

Click on the images to zoom

Diego Ulissi

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Riders and teams - Giro 2014 Favourites - Giro 2014 Withdrawals - Giro 2014 Results - Giro 2014 The Route - Giro 2014
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!