Vuelta 2022: Sprint triumph Bennett, Affini new leader

Sam Bennett - Vuelta 2022: Sprint triumph Bennett, Affini new leaderfoto: Cor VosSam Bennett sprints to victory in the 3rd stage of La Vuelta,, while Edoardo Affini moves into the lead of the general classification. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 3rd stage 2022 Vuelta

1. Sam Bennett (irl)
2. Mads Pedersen (den) s.t.
3. Daniel McLay (gbr) s.t.
4. Bryan Coquard (fra) s.t.
5. Fabian Lienhard (swi) s.t.
6. Tim Merlier (bel) s.t.
7. Kaden Groves (aus) s.t.
8. Cedric Beullens (bel) s.t.
9. Pascal Ackermann (ger) s.t.
10. Danny van Poppel (nld) s.t.

GC after stage 3

1. Edoardo Affini (ita)
2. Sam Oomen (ita) s.t.
3. Primoz Roglic (slo) s.t.
4. Sepp Kuss (usa) s.t.
5. Mike Teunissen (nld) s.t.
6. Robert Gesink (nld) s.t.
7. Ethan Hayter (gbr) + 0.13
8. Richard Carapaz (ecu) s.t.
9. Carlos Rodriguez (spa) s.t.
10. Pavel Sivakov (fra) s.t.

Race report
KOM leader Julius van den Berg, Thomas De Gendt, Jan Bakelants, José Herrada, Ander Okamika, Pau Miquel and Mikel Iturria jump clear at kilometre 4. The seven open up a 3 minutes gap before the peloton takes the reins. The catch is made inside the last 12 kilometres.

While Tim Merlier drops his chain, Sam Bennett outguns Mads Pedersen and Daniel McLay in a close sprint finish.

Jumbo-Visma takes turns in red. Edoardo Affini is the new leader of La Vuelta.

Another interesting read: route 3rd stage 2022 Vuelta.

Vuelta 2022 stage 3: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Sam Bennett

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 3: For fast men #2 - Vuelta 20 The Route - Vuelta 20 Riders - Vuelta 20 Results - Vuelta 20 GC Favourites - Vuelta 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!