Vuelta 2020: Ackermann wins in Madrid, GC triumph Roglic

Pascal Ackermann sprints to victory in Madrid. The German outguns Sam Bennett and Max Kanter on the line, while Primoz Roglic celebrates in red. The Slovene wins the Spanish Grand Tour for the second consecutive year. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 18th stage Vuelta a España 2020

1. Pascal Ackermann (ger)
2. Sam Bennett (irl) s.t.
3. Max Kanter (ger) s.t.
4. Jasper Philipsen (bel) s.t.
5. Jasha Sütterlin (ger)
6. Emmanuel Morin (fra) s.t.
7. Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (rsa) s.t.
8. Lorrenzo Manzin (fra) s.t.
9. Robert Stannard (nzl) s.t.
10. Jon Aberasturi (spa) s.t.

Final GC Vuelta a España 2020
1. Primoz Roglic (slo)
2. Richard Carapaz (ecu) + 0.24
3. Hugh Carthy (gbr) + 1.15
4. Daniel Martin (irl) + 2.43
5. Enric Mas (spa) + 3.36
6. Wout Poels (nld) + 7.16
7. David de la Cruz (spa) + 7.35
8. David Gaudu (fra) + 7.45
9. Felix Großschartner (aut) + 8.15
10. Alejandro Valverde (spa) + 9.34

Race report
The first to attacks in the streets of Madrid is Tim Wellens. Willie Smit goes with him, while Gonzalo Serrano and Dimitriy Gruzdev track them down.

The four open up a gap of 30 seconds before being brought back just before the bell for the final lap.

In the ensuing bunch sprint Ackermann outperforms Bennett with a few millimetres, while Roglic finishes safely in the group to seal the GC victory.

Other interesting reads:
route 18th stage 2020 Vuelta
KOM classification
points classification

Vuelta a España 2020 stage 18: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Primoz RoglicPascal Ackermann

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
The Route - Vuelta 2020 Riders - Vuelta 2020 Withdrawals - Vuelta 2020 Results - Vuelta 2020 GC Favourites - Vuelta 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!