Volta a Catalunya 2019: Matthews bests Bauhaus in photo finish, López still leader

The Volta a Catalunya's 6th stage is far from flat, yet the race comes down to a bunch sprint on a false flat arrival. Michael Matthews outguns Phil Bauhaus, while Miguel Ángel López stays in the overall lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 6th stage Volta a Catalunya 2019

1. Michael Matthews (aus)
2. Phil Bauhaus (ger) s.t.
3. Daryl Impey (rsa) s.t.
4. Patrick Bevin (nzl) s.t.
5. Mikel Aristi (spa) s.t.
6. Hugo Hofstetter (fra) s.t.
7. Ryan Gibbons (rsa) s.t.
8. Miguel Ángel López (col) s.t.
9. Rafal Majka (pol) s.t.
10. Enric Mas (spa) s.t.

GC after stage 6
1. Miguel Ángel López (col)
2. Adam Yates (gbr) + 0.14
3. Egan Bernal (col) + 0.17
4. Nairo Quintana (col) + 0.25
5. Daniel Martin (irl) + 0.46
6. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 0.56
7. Michael Woods (can) + 1.42
8. Romain Bardet (fra) + 1.44
9. Rafal Majka (pol) + 2.27
10. Marc Soler (spa) + 2.36

Race report
Josef Cerny, Geoffrey Bouchard and Mikel Iturria jump clear and Oscar Riesebeek and Floris De Tier bridge across to form a breakaway of five riders. They carve out a maximum gap of almost 3 minutes.

Iturria is dropped inside the last 14 kilometres, while the others are reeled in 12 kilometres before the line.

Formolo escapes with 3 kilometres to go and leader López bridges across, but they are brought back with 1.5 kilometres remaining. In the ensuing bunch sprint Matthews bests Bauhaus, although it is a matter of millimetres.

Ahead of the trying hilly criterium in Barcelona, López leads the GC with 14 seconds over Yates and 17 seconds over Bernal.

Another interesting read: route 6th stage 2019 Volta a Catalunya.

Volta a Catalunya 2019 stage 6: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Michael Matthews

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Overview - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Formolo wins exciting final race, López takes GC - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Schachmann solos to victory, López retains lead - Volta a Catalunya 2019 New leader López wins in la Molina - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Adam Yates wins in Vallter 2000, De Gendt holds on to GC lead - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Power victory Matthews, De Gendt retains lead - Volta a Catalunya 2019 De Gendt wins 1st stage solo - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 1: Calella – Calella - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 2: Mataró – Sant Feliu de Guíxols - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 3: Sant Feliu de Guíxols – Vallter 2000 - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 4: Llanars (Vall de Camprodon) – La Molina - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 5: Puigcerdà – Sant Cugat del Vallès - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 7: Barcelona – Barcelona - Volta a Catalunya 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!