Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 1: Calella – Calella

Monday 25 March – Since 2012 the Volta a Catalunya sets off with an out-and-back stage in Calella. At 164 kilometres, the route of the 1st stage of the 2019 edition is mountainous, although the major climbs are done with 54 kilometres remaining.

Although it’s the eight consecutive time that the Volta a Catalunya begins with a race from Calella to Calella, the route is never the same. Last year’s inaugural stage was played out on an undulating route at the end of which young Álvaro José Hodeg outsprinted Sam Bennett and Jay McCarthy on the line.

The opener of the 2019 edition is much harder. The route takes in the Port de Collsacreu early on before the huge Port de Santa Fe del Montseny (17.5 kilometres at 5.4%)  is crested at an altitude of 1,285 metres. The second half of the race features Alt El Muntanyà (3.9 kilometres at 73%) and Coll Formic before returning to the Porte de Collsacreu with 34 kilometres remaining.

The Collsacreu is 3rd category, but the Santa Fe del Montseny, El Muntanyà and Coll Formic are all 1st category KOM climbs, so this is a tough start of the Volta a Catalunya.

Calella is a seaside town 55 kilometres north of Barcelona. Other winners of the Calella-Calella stage are David Cimolai (2017, sprint), Nacer Bouhanni (2016, sprint), Maciej Paterski (2015, early break), Luka Mezgec (2014, sprint), Gianni Meersman (2013, sprint), and Michael Albasini (2012, solo).

The first three riders on the line win time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 second, while two intermediate sprints (at kilometre 89 and at kilometre 142) come with 3, 2 and 1 seconds each.

Another interesting read: results/race report 1st stage 2019 Volta a Catalunya.

Volta a Catalunya 2019 stage 1: route, profile, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Overview - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Formolo wins exciting final race, López takes GC - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Matthews bests Bauhaus in photo finish, López still leader - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Schachmann solos to victory, López retains lead - Volta a Catalunya 2019 New leader López wins in la Molina - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Adam Yates wins in Vallter 2000, De Gendt holds on to GC lead - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Power victory Matthews, De Gendt retains lead - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 2: Mataró – Sant Feliu de Guíxols - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 3: Sant Feliu de Guíxols – Vallter 2000 - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 4: Llanars (Vall de Camprodon) – La Molina - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 5: Puigcerdà – Sant Cugat del Vallès - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 6: Valls – Vila-seca - Volta a Catalunya 2019 Route stage 7: Barcelona – Barcelona - Volta a Catalunya 2019
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!