Volta a Catalunya 2018 Route stage 2: Mataró - Valls

Volta a Catalunya 2018 stage 2Tuesday, 20 March 2018 - The Volta Catalunya's 2nd stage runs from Mataró to Valls, where and Alejandro Valverde soloed to victory in 2015 and Wout Poels in 2016. The finale is the same as back then - a 6.3 kilometres climb 4.8% before a fast descent to the line.

In recent years, departure place Mataró has evolved into a regular host. It’s the fourth time in a row that the town in the foothills of the Pyrenees serves as the start to a Volta a Catalunya stage. In 2015 and 2016, the riders left for Olot and last year for La Molina in the high mountains.

Now the route travels to Valls, another familiar name in the Volta a Catalunya. In fact, Valls and pro-cycling is a weathered combination. In 2013 the town hosted the Vuelta a España, while in the years 2013-2016 the Catalonian stage race finished here. Wout Poels (2016) and Alejandro Valverde (2015) soloed to victory in the same finale. First the 6.3 kilometres climb up the Coll de Lilla (average gradient at 4.8%) before an 8 kilometres drop and 2 final kilometres on the flat. Both Simon Gerrans (2013) and Luka Mezgec (2014) won bunch sprints in Valls.

The 2nd stage of the 2018 Volta a Catalunya begins with 10 kilometres on the flat before the rest of the race is played out on rolling roads. At kilometre 100 the riders enter a false flat section of approximately 25 kilometres. Before the highest point is reached the gradients go up to some 4%. Following a flat intermezzo the riders drop down a long descent to the finale.

The first three riders on the line take time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds, while the intermediate sprint (at kilometre 102) comes with 3, 2 and 1 seconds.

The 2nd stage of the Volta a Catalunya starts at 13:00 and the finish is expected around 17:00.

Volta a Catalunya 2018 stage 2: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom.

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
Log on with Facebook

No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.
Related articles
Overview - Volta a Catalunya 20 Recent Winners - Volta a Catalunya Route stage 1: Calella - Calella - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 3: Sant Cugat del Vallès - Vallter 2000 - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 4: Llanars - La Molina - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 5: Llívia - Vielha e Mijaran - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 6: Vielha e Mijaran - Torrefarrera - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 7: Barcelona - Barcelona - Volta a Catalunya 20
More articles