Volta a Catalunya 2018 Route stage 1: Calella - Calella

Volta aCatalunya 2018 stage 1Monday, 19 March 2018 – As of the 2012 edition, the Volta a Catalunya starts with a Calella-Calella stage. Although the route is hardly flat, the race often boils down to a group sprint. The route of the 1st stage of the 2018 edition amounts to 152.3 kilometre and is played out on rolling roads.

Although it’s the seventh time in a row the Volta a Catalunya begins with a race from Calella to Calella, the route is never the same. In last two editions the race was pretty hilly. Last year, the 1st stage of the Volta a Catalunya took in six climbs – and Davide Cimolai sprinted to victory. Two years ago, the opening of the Catalonian stage race took in five climbs – and Nacer Bouhanni outsprinted the bunch.

A bunch spint is the most likely outcome in 2018, too. While the roads are rarely pan-flat, the route is at most rolling. The last 2 kilometres of the only climb, de Alt de Collsacreu, are the steepest of today’s stage. This section goes up at around 5% before the summit is crested with 18 kilometres remaining. Most of it is on descent.

Calella is a seaside town 55 kilometres north of Barcelona. Other winners of the Calella-Calella stage were Michael Albasini (2012, solo), Gianni Meersman (2013, sprint), Luka Mezgec (2014, sprint) and Maciej Paterski (2015, early break).

The first three riders on the line take time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds, while the intermediate sprint (at kilometre 49.5) comes with 3, 2 and 1 seconds.

The 1st stage of the Volta a Catalunya starts at 13:30 and the finish is expected around 17:00.

Volta a Catalunya 2018 stage 1: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom.

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
Log on with Facebook

No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.
Related articles
Overview - Volta a Catalunya 20 Recent Winners - Volta a Catalunya Route stage 2: Mataró - Valls - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 3: Sant Cugat del Vallès - Vallter 2000 - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 4: Llanars - La Molina - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 5: Llívia - Vielha e Mijaran - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 6: Vielha e Mijaran - Torrefarrera - Volta a Catalunya 20 Route stage 7: Barcelona - Barcelona - Volta a Catalunya 20
More articles