Tour Down Under 2017: The Route

Tour Down Under 2017From 17 January to 22 January, the 2017 Santos Tour Down Under is on the racing calendar. The six-day race features a combination of stages for sprinters and more hilly routes with punchy finales. Simon Gerrans is title holder.

The 2017 Tour Down Under leaves from Unley. Stage 1 is played out on an undulating route of 145 kilometres. Last edition Caleb Ewan did win the bunch sprint in Lyndoch. Chances are it will be up to the fast men again.

At 148.5 kilometres, stage 2 leads from Stirling to Paracombe. The finale is a puncher’s dream with a 1.2 kilometres climb at 9.9% and a summit finish.

Fast men will be eyeing up stage 3. Arrival place Victor Harbor and bunch sprints, they go way back. Last year, Simon Gerrans sprinted to victory in the town on the south coast of the Fleurieu Peninsula. André Greipel did the same in 2012 and 2014.

Stage 4 leads from Norwood to a false flat arrival in Campbelltown. The likes of Peter Sagan and Michael Matthews must be looking at the route with gloating satisfaction.

At 151.5 kilometres, stage 5 is the longest in the Tour Down Under. Travelling from McLaren Vale to Willunga Hill it is also the toughest. The punchy finale takes in a 3 kilometres climb at 7% and a summit finish.

The closing stage of the 2017 Tour Down Under is a criterium in the streets of Adelaide. In 2016 Caleb Ewan sprinted to victory on this route.

Tour Down Under 2017: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Ewan powers to victory four in final stage, Porte wins overall - Tour Down Under 2017 Porte wins for fourth time on Willunga Hill and cements lead - Tour Down Under 2017 Ewan powers to third victory in Campbelltown, Porte retains lead - Tour Down Under 2017 Ewan bests Sagan on the line in 3rd stage, Porte still leader - Tour Down Under 2017 Stage 2 victory Porte catapults him into ochre jersey - Tour Down Under 2017 Ewan powers to victory and leaders jersey in stage 1 - Tour Down Under 2017 Route stage 1: Unley - Lyndoch - Tour Down Under 2017 Route stage 2: Stirling - Paracombe - Tour Down Under 2017 Route stage 3: Glenelg - Victor Harbor - Tour Down Under 2017 Route stage 4: Norwood - Campbelltown - Tour Down Under 2017 Route stage 5: McLaren Vale – Willunga Hill - Tour Down Under 2017 Route stage 6: Criterium in Adelaide - Tour Down Under 2017
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!