Tour de France 2022: Vingegaard wins on Col du Granon to take yellow

Jonas Vingegaard - Tour de France 2022: Vingegaard wins on Col du Granon to take yellowimage: Cor VosJumbo-Visma puts pressure on Tadej Pogacar as early as the Col du Télégraphe. Jonas Vingegaard strikes the decisive blow on the Col du Granon. The Dane solos to victory and the maillot jaune. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 11th stage 2022 Tour de France

1. Jonas Vingegaard (den)
2. Nairo Quintana (col) + 0.59
3. Romain Bardet (fra) + 1.10
4. Geraint Thomas (gbr) + 1.38
5. David Gaudu (fra) + 2.04
6. Adam Yates (gbr) + 2.10
7. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 2.51
8. Alexey Lutsenko (kaz) + 3.38
9. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 3.59
10. Warren Barguil (fra) + 4.16

12. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) + 4.40
15. Enric Mas (spa) + 8.08
18. Tom Pidcock (gbr) + 9.55
20. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 11.31

GC after stage 11
1. Jonas Vingegaard (den)
2. Romain Bardet (fra) + 2.16
3. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 2.22
4. Geraint Thomas (gbr) + 2.26
5. Nairo Quintana (col) + 2.37
6. Adam Yates (gbr) + 3.06
7. David Gaudu (fra) + 3.13
8. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) + 7.23
9. Alexey Lutsenko (kaz) + 8.07
10. Enric Mas (spa) + 9.29

11. Tom Pidcock (gbr) + 11.12

Race report
Mathieu van der Poel and Wout van Aert attack from the gun. Mattia Cattaneo chases the duo down after 29 kilometres, while a group of 19 riders bridges across a little later: Christophe Laporte, Mikaël Chérel, Nils Politt, Maximilian Schachman, Andrea Bagioli, Simon Geschke, Ion Izagirre, Kamil Gradek, Dylan Teuns, Guillaume Van Keirsbulck, Jonas Rutsch, Warren Barguil, Mads Pedersen, Tony Gallopin, Maciej Bodnar, Pierre Latour, and Krists Neilands.

The attackers carev out a lead of more than 9 minutes on the Télégraphe, but is gpes down when Benoot and Roglic attack. The two are caught but the acceleration is too much for Kämna and Pidcock and the runner-up loses contact.

While Cherel goes solo on the Galibier, Roglic strikes in the Télégraphe descent. Pogacar, Vingegaard and Thomas go with him. The two Jumbo-Visma riders put pressure on Pogacar in the early slopes of the Galibier, but the yellow jersey survives.

While Barguil, Van Aert, Geschke and Latour reel in Cherel, the other GC riders rejoin Pogacar, Roglic, Vingegaard and Thomas. Teuns also makes it back to the front of the race.

Barguil heads out alone in the last 7 kilometres of the Galibier. Roglic gives it another go on the lower slopes, but Pogacar counterattacks. The yellow jersey keeps on pushing until there is only one rider remaining in his wheel – Vingegaard.

Barguil reaches the summit 1 minute ahead of Geschke, while Van Aert sits up to wait for the group Roglic. The Flemish powerhouse brings his leader back the yellow jersey group, where Bardet, Thomas, Yates and Quintana also reported in.

The lone leader tackles the finish climb 2 minutes ahead of Teuns, Geschke and Latour. The yellow jersey group is 1 minute further behind.

Quintana strikes on the early slopes and he gobbles up the three chasers. Bardet goes after the Colombian with 6 kilometres remaining. Vingegaard rejoins him, only to leave him behind. Pogacar can’t follow, while the Dane powers on. Thomas laves the yellow jersey behind as well.

Quintana overhauls Barguil, only to be caught by Vingegaard. The Dane powers on to take a brillant victory on the Col du Granon. Vingegaard is the new GC leader.

Pogacar fades away in the background. Gaudu and Yates overhaul him before he finishes in 7th place, almost 3 minutes behind Vingegaard. He drops down to third place, while Bardet is the new runner-up.

Another interesting read: route 11th stage 2022 Tour de France.

Tour de France 2022 stage 11: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Jonas Vingegaard

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 11: GC clash at the Granon - Tour de France 20 The Route - Tour de France 20 Riders - Tour de France 20 Withdrawals - Tour de France 20 Results - Tour de France 20 GC Favourites - Tour de France 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!