Tour de France 2022: Cort wins in Megève, Pogacar stays in yellow

Magnus Cort - Tour de France 2022: Cort wins in Megève, Pogacar stays in yellowfoto: Cor VosMagnus Cort wins stage 10 from the breakaway. He outguns Nick Schultz with an ultimate bike throw, while Tadej Pogacar stays in pink, Lennard Kämna moves up to second place. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 10th stage 2022 Tour de France

1. Magnus Cort (den)
2. Nick Schultz (aus) s.t.
3. Luis León Sánchez (spa) + 0.07
4. Matteo Jorgenson (usa) + 0.08
5. Dylan van Baarle (nld) + 0.10
6. Georg Zimmermann (ger) + 0.15
7. Benjamin Thomas (fra) + 0.18
8. Andres Leknessund (nor) + 0.20
9. Fred Wright (gbr) + 0.22
10. Lennard Kämna (ger) s.t.
– GC riders + 8.54

GC after stage 10
1. Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2. Lennard Kämna (ger) + 0.11
3. Jonas Vingegaard (den) + 0.39
4. Geraint Thomas (gbr) + 1.17
5. Adam Yates (gbr) + 1.25
6. David Gaudu (fra) + 1.38
7. Romain Bardet (fra) + 1.39
8. Tom Pidcock (gbr) + 1.46
9. Enric Mas (spa) + 1.50
10. Luis León Sánchez (spa) s.t.

11. Neilson Powless (usa) + 1.55
12. Nairo Quintana (col) + 2.13
13. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 2.52
14. Aleksandr Vlasov (rus) + 3.12

Race report
A lot of movement from the start. Dylan van Baarle, Philippe Gilbert, Pierre Rolland and LL Sánchez open a gap on the false flat run-up to the Col de Jambaz. Just before the climb Matteo Jorgenson, Benjamin Thomas, Fred Wright, Andreas Leknessund, Georg Zimmermann, Simon Clarke, Nick Schultz and Christophe Laporte bridge across. Another group of riders – Filippo Ganna, Lennard Kämna, Ion Izagirre, Kristian Sbaragli, Andreas Leknessund, Simone Velasco, Alberto Bettiol, Magnus Cort, Hugo Hofstetter, Connor Swift, Mads Pedersen, Quinn Simmons, Edvald Boasson Hagen, Jack Bauer – round out the breakaway.

Bettiol goes solo inside the last 45 kilometres. Roughly 10 kilometres later the Tour de France is paused for a while because protestors on the road are blocking the race.

Bettiol enters the finish climb 30 seconds of the chasers, while the peloton is more than 9 minutes in arrears.

Zimmermann, Wright and Thomas rejoin the Italian 12 kilometres before the finish. Van Baarle, Jorgenson, Cort and Velasco bridge across later.

Bettiol goes again, while Zimmermann claws back to his wheel. Kämna, Simmons, Sánchez, Schultz and Leknessund rejoin the chasers and the two leaders. Moments later Bettiol loses contact.

LL Sánchez accelerates with 6 kilometres to go. Jorgenson and Schultz go after him in the last 3 kilometres. They catch the Spaniard, while Van Baarle closes the gap under the flamme rouge.

The Dutchman tries to forge a gap, but to no avail. The four start looking at each other and the other attackers make it back in the last 500 metres. The sprint runs uphill and it comes down to a Schultz/Cort clash. The Dane wins the race with an ultimate jump to the line.

The GC riders finish almost 9 minutes later. Pogacar keeps the yellow jersey, although Kämna comes close – just 11 seconds.

Another interesting read: route 10th stage Tour de France 2022.

Tour de France 2022 stage 10: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Magnus Cort

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 10: Breakaway day - Tour de France 20 The Route - Tour de France 20 Riders - Tour de France 20 Withdrawals - Tour de France 20 Results - Tour de France 20 GC Favourites - Tour de France 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!