Tour de France 2021: Van der Poel wins at Mûr-de-Bretagne to take yellow

Mathieu van der Poel Tour - Tour de France 2021: Van der Poel wins at Mûr-de-Bretagne to take yellowfoto: Cor VosThe 2nd stage of Le Tour comes down to the short and sharp haul up the Mûr-de-Bretagne. Mathieu van der Poel strikes in the last kilometre to solo to triumph. He also moves into the yellow jersey. Tadej Pogacar and Primoz Roglic finish in second and third. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2nd stage Tour de France 2021

1. Mathieu van der Poel (nld)
2. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 0.06
3. Primoz Roglic (slo) s.t.
4. Wilco Kelderman (nld) s.t.
5. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) + 0.08
6. Bauke Mollema (nld) s.t.
7. Jonas Vingegaard (den) s.t.
8. Sergio Higuita (col) s.t.
9. Pierre Latour (fra) s.t.
10. Jack Haig (aus) s.t.

GC after stage 2
1. Mathieu van der Poel (nld)
2. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) + 0.08
3. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 0.13
4. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 0.14
5. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 0.24
6. Jack Haig (aus) + 0.26
7. Bauke Mollema (nld) s.t.
8. Sergio Higuita (col) s.t.
9. Jonas Vingegaard (den) s.t.
10. David Gaudu (fra) s.t.

11. Enric Mas (spa) s.t.
14. Nairo Quintana (col) s.t.
15. Esteban Chaves (col) s.t.
16. Rigoberto Uran (col) s.t.
18. Richard Carapaz (ecu) + 0.31
20. Geraint Thomas (gbr) + 0.41
22. Jakob Fuglsang (den) s.t.
29. Steven Kruijswijk (nld) + 2.07
33. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 2.22
43. Richie Porte (aus) + 3.08
76. Michael Woods (can) + 9.07
80. Tao Geoghegan Hart (gbr) + 9.31
83. Ion Izagirre (spa) + 11.38

Race report
Anthony Perez and Jonas Koch jump off the front after 10 kilometres before Edward Theuns and Simon Clarke close the gap. KOM leader Ide Schelling and Jérémy Cabot track down the leaders and the six carve out a lead of 4 minutes.

Schelling and Perez both take 1 KOM point before Theuns strikes just before the Côte de Saint Brieuc. Jérémy Cabot rejoins him after the top, while the other attackers drop back into the peloton.

Theuns is the last attacker to be reeled in just before the Mûr-de-Bretagne, while Van der Poel strikes on the climb. He reaches the summit a few seconds ahead Pogacar, Roglic and the peloton. The Slovenes take time bonuses of 5 and 2 seconds, respectively, while the Dutchman takes 8 seconds.

As expected, the race comes down to the finish climb up the Mûr-de-Bretagne. Following early moves by Davide Formolo and Nairo Quintana, Sonny Colbrelli jumps clear when the gradients levels out under the flamme rouge. Van der Poel follows his move and leaves the Italian Champion behind inside the last 800 metres.

The Dutchman forges on alone with the aim of taking yellow as well as the stage win. He succeeds in both and wins the race 6 seconds ahead of Tadej Pogacar, Primoz Roglic and Wilco Kelderman with the yellow jersey group finishing 2 seconds later.

The likes of Geraint Thomas and Miguel Ángel López lose contact and finish in a group 25 seconds behind the stage winner.

Another interesting read: route 2nd stage 2021 Tour de France.

Tour de France 2021 stage 2: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Mathieu van der Poel

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 2: Punchers at Mûr-de-Bretagne - Tour de France 20 The Route - Tour de France 20 Riders - Tour de France 20 Withdrawals - Tour de France 20 Results - Tour de France 20 GC Favourites - Tour de France 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!