Tirreno-Adriatico 2015: Jens Debusschere outsprints Peter Sagan

Stage 2 in the Tirreno-Adriatico is for the sprinters after 153 kilometres between Camaiore and Cascina. A crash in the finale shakes up the routine and Jens Debusschere speeds to victory. (Slideshow route/profile)

Tirreno-Adriatico 2015: Results 2nd stage

1. Jens Debusschere (bel)
2. Peter Sagan (svk) s.t.
3. Sam Bennet (irl) s.t.
4. Alexander Porsev (rus) s.t.
5. Tyler Farrar (usa) s.t.
6. Magnus Cort (den) s.t.
7. Roger Klüge (ger) s.t.
8. Nicola Ruffoni (ita) s.t.
9. Zakkari Dempster (aus) s.t.
10. Mark Renshaw (aus) s.t.

GC after the 2nd stage
1. Adriano Malori (ita)
2. Peter Sagan (svk) s.t.
3. Fabian Cancellara (swi) + 0.01
4. Greg van Avermaet (bel) + 0.02
5. Matthias Brändle (aut) s.t.
6. Maciej Bodnar (pol) s.t.
7. Daniel Oss (ita) + 0.04
8. Ramunas Navardauskas (ltu) + 0.05
9. Stephen Cummings (gbr) + 0.06
10. Martijn Keizer (nld) + 0.07

21. Rigoberto Uran (col) + 0.10
23. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) + 0.11
37. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 0.13
47. Bauke Mollema (nld) + 0.15
61. Alberto Contador (spa) + 0.19
74. Nairo Quintana (col) + 0.21

Race report
When the riders are off it takes a while for the battle to ignite. Then a break of seven takes shape – Konrad, Wyss, Quintero, Castiblanco, Keizer, Zardini and Salerno. They race to a comfortable gain.

Soon the Pitoro is crested, with Castiblanco grabbing most mountain points – Keizer is second, Konrad third. The first intermediate sprint is Keizer’s.

The gap balances at 6 minutes for quite a while, but when the pack decides time’s up the reeling in begins and with 12 kilometres left it is all back together again. Sprinters squads Etixx and MTN take control of the pack while storming to the finish line in Cascina.

A crash in the final kilometre doesn’t distract Jens Debusschere and the Belgian champions sprints to victory, besting Peter Sagan in doing so.

Tirreno Adriatico 2015 stage 2: Images and more

Click on the images to zoom

Jens Debusschere

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Overview - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Cancellara wins ITT, Quintana takes overall - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Peter Sagan sprints to rainy victory - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Quintana takes Queen Stage and GC lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Wout Poels takes stage and overall lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Greg Van Avermaet wins stage and takes GC lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Adriano Malori fastest in short ITT - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Route stage 1: ITT in Lido di Camaiore - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Route stage 3: Cascina – Arezzo - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Route stage 4: Indicatore – Castelraimondo - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Route stage 5: Esanatoglia – Terminillo - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Route stage 6: Rieti – Porto Sant’Elpidio - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Route stage 7: ITT in San Benedetto del Tronto - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!