Tirreno-Adriatico 2015: The Route

Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 all stagesThe 50th edition of the Tirreno-Adriatico starts at Wednesday, March 11th 2015. The route offers the traditional mix of time trialling, sprinting and climbing. The mountain top finish at Monte Terminillo should be the master-piece, a 16.1 kilometres climb in the Central Apennines.

Monte Terminillo peaks at 2,216 metres, but the Tirreno doesn’t go that high. Stage 5 finishes at 1,675 altimetres, which in fact is a high enough location given the time of year. Last editions amply demonstrated Italian weather can be really horrible during the Tirreno, especially at that altitude. With 16.1 kilometres of climbing at 7.3%, the Terminillo is one of the toughest ascents in the Central Apennines. Earlier that day riders are to crest the Passo Sallegri, Le Arette and Forca di Arrone.

Stage 4 is a race to look forward to also, with four passes and a thrilling downhill finish.

The Tirreno spans seven days. It starts with a prologue and closes with a short individual time trial, and in between the race offers a mix of sprint stages and tough climbing. Just like we are used to in the Italian jubilee.

The 3rd stage is virtually a copy of last year. Lots of flat kilometres and then all of a sudden a nasty last kilometre, opening with 11.1% section and a 5.4% grade in the final few hundred metres. Peter Sagan took that stage last year, besting Michal Kwiatkowski.

Editions 2012 and 2013 were won by Vincenzo Nibali and in 2014 it was Alberto Contador’s time to shine after a brilliant week. Both riders will be at the start in Camaiore, just like Nairo Quintana. So that’s the first clash of three major contenders in next July’s Tour de France.

Tirreno Adriatico 2015: Images and more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Cancellara wins ITT, Quintana takes overall - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Peter Sagan sprints to rainy victory - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Quintana takes Queen Stage and GC lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Wout Poels takes stage and overall lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Greg Van Avermaet wins stage and takes GC lead - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Jens Debusschere outsprints Peter Sagan - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Adriano Malori fastest in short ITT - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Route stage 1: ITT in Lido di Camaiore - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Route stage 2: Camaiore – Cascina - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Route stage 3: Cascina – Arezzo - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Route stage 4: Indicatore – Castelraimondo - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Route stage 5: Esanatoglia – Terminillo - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Route stage 6: Rieti – Porto Sant’Elpidio - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015 Route stage 7: ITT in San Benedetto del Tronto - Tirreno-Adriatico 2015
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!