Summer Olympics 2016 Rio: Van Avermaet powers to gold, Fuglsang silver, Majka bronze

greg van avermaet 2016 olympic champion rioThe route of Rio's Olympic road race is teeming with steep hills. Attackers Nibali and Henao hit the tarmac in the last descent and their fellow-escapee Majka pushes on alone. The Pole is brought back with 1.5 kilometres left by Van Avermaet and Fuglsang. The Flemish rider sprints to gold. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results Olympic Road Race for men

1. Greg Van Avermaet (bel)
2. Jakob Fuglsang (den) s.t.
3. Rafal Majka (pol) + 0.05
4. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) + 0.22
5. Joaquim Rodriguez (spa) s.t.
6. Fabio Aru (ita) s.t.
7. Louis Meintjes (rsa) s.t.
8. Andrey Zeits (kaz) + 0.25
9. Tanel Kangert (est) + 1.47
10. Rui Costa (por) + 2.29

11. Geraint Thomas (gbr) s.t.
12. Chris Froome (gbr) + 2.58
13. Daniel Martin (irl) s.t.
15. Adam Yates (gbr) + 3.03
17. Bauke Mollema (nld) + 3.31
30. Alejandro Valverde (spa) + 9.38

Race report
A group of six riders gets clear with around 15 kms done. Michal Kwiatkowski, Michael Albasini, Pavel Kochetkov, Simon Getschke, Jarlison Pantano and Sven Erik Bystrøm race to a maximum lead at 8 minutes.

At the last passage on the cobbles of the Grumari park the peloton breaks, yet things come together again, and when leaving the circuit the leaders enjoy a 2 minutes lead.

When hitting the second circuit Bystrøm and Albasini are the first riders to get dropped, while Pantano and Geschke are next on the higher slopes. Greg Van Avermaet, Geraint Thomas and Damiano Caruso attack from the pack. Rein Taaramae and Sergio Henao bridge the gap, just like Andrey Zeits at a later stage.

When racing the second circuit for the second time Kwiatkowski goes solo, yet the chasers hook with him before the top of the Vista Chinesa.

In the descent Porte crashes, while Aru, Nibali, Yates, Majka and Fuglsang jump to the front group. On the flat to the last circuit Kwiatkowskiis suffers from cramps and gets dropped.

On the steep Canoas climb of the circuit Rodriguez and Meintjes open the chase. Nibali pushes so hard that only Henao, Majka, Thomas, Van Avermaet and Fuglsang are able to follow. Just before cresting Zeits and Aru re-join, along with Purito and Meintjes. After a short drop the Vista Chinesa climb looms and Henao attacks with Nibali on his wheel. Majka hooks up, while Alaphilippe joins the chasers.

In the steep drop the gap is 14 seconds when Nibali and Henao hit the tarmac. In the chasing group Thomas crashes.

With 5 kms to go Van Avermaet and Fuglsang escape to bridge the gap to Majka with 1.5 kms to go. The Flemish powerhouse is fastest and he takes gold ahead of Fuglsang and Majka.

Summer Olympics 2016 Road race: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom.

Greg van Avermaet

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Van der Breggen takes gold ahead of Johansson and Longo Borghini - Summer Olympics 2016 Rio Route road race – women - Summer Olympics 2016 Rio Riders road race – women - Summer Olympics 2016 Rio Favourites road race – women - Summer Olympics 2016 Rio Cancellara powers to gold in ITT - Summer Olympics 2016 Rio Route ITT - men - Summer Olympics 2016 Rio Riders ITT – men - Summer Olympics 2016 Rio Favourites ITT – men - Summer Olympics 2016 Rio Armstrong takes gold ahead Zabelinskaya and Van der Breggen - Summer Olympics 2016 Rio Route ITT - women - Summer Olympics 2016 Rio Riders ITT – women - Summer Olympics 2016 Rio Favourites ITT – women - Summer Olympics 2016 Rio Recent Winners road race - men - Summer Olympics 2016 Cycling - Summer Olympics
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!