Critérium du Dauphiné 2021: Thomas wins with late attack, Pöstlberger keeps race lead

Geraint Thomas - Critérium du Dauphiné 2021: Thomas wins with late attack, Pöstlberger keeps race leadimage: Cor VosGeraint Thomas strikes just before the flamme rouge and holds off the sprinters to win the 5th stage on the Dauphiné. Lukas Pöstlberger keeps the yellow jersey. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 5th stage Critérium du Dauphiné 2021

1. Geraint Thomas (gbr)
2. Sonny Colbrelli (ita) s.t.
3. Alex Aranburu (spa) s.t.
4. Carlos Barbero (spa) s.t.
5. Mads Würtz Schmidt (den) s.t.
6. Michael Valgren (den) s.t.
7. Patrick Konrad (aut) s.t.
8. Alejandro Valverde (spa) s.t.
9. Harry Sweeny (aus) s.t.
10. Franck Bonnamour (fra) s.t.

GC after stage 5
1. Lukas Pöstlberger (aut)
2. Alexey Lutsenko (kaz) + 0.01
3. Kasper Asgreen (den) + 0.06
4. Ion Izagirre (spa) + 0.09
5. Wilco Kelderman (nld) + 0.13
6. Geraint Thomas (gbr) + 0.14
7. Ilan Van Wilder (bel) s.t.
8. Richie Porte (aus) + 0.16
9. Patrick Konrad (aut) + 0.32
10. Ben O’Connor (aus) + 0.34

Race report
Tim Wellens attacks on the Planil climb and he reaches the summit ahead of Tsgabu Grmay, Kasper Asgreen and Julien Bernard. The trio chase the Flemish attacker down before Cyril Gautier also makes it across. The five open up a 2 minutes gap.

That’s all they get from the peloton. Which makes sense. Asgreen is the best placed attacker, only 6 seconds down on GC after he takes 3 seconds in the intermediate sprint in Saint-Appolinard.

Just before the five are about to get caught with 105 kilometres remaining Josef Cerny, Ryan Mullen and Jasper Stuyven bridge across. With fresh legs on board the attackers widen the gap to almost 2 minutes. Still, it is merely a stay of proceedings. Just after the Côte de Hauterives Cerny is the last attacker to be reeled in.

Sven Erik Bystrøm jumps off the front with 36 kilometres remaining, but he is caught at the foot of the steep Côte de Montrebut. Lawson Craddock speeds up on the climb before a decimated peloton brings him back inside the last 3 kilometres.

The winning move is made by Geraint Thomas. He attacks in the last kilometre to hold off the charging peloton. Sonny Colbrelli sprints to second place, while Lukas Pöstlberger finishes in the main group to secure another day in the leader’s jersey.

Another interesting read: route 5th stage 2021 Critérium du Dauphiné.

Critérium du Dauphiné 2021 – stage 5: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Geraint Thomas

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
GC Favourites - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Overview - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Winners and records - Critérium du Dauphiné Padun again, Porte seals GC win - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Padun wins in La Plagne, Porte new leader - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Uphill sprint win Valverde, Lutsenko new leader - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Lutsenko wins ITT, Pöstlberger holds on to yellow - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Start times ITT - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Sprint triumph Colbrelli, Pöstlberger keeps race lead - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Solo triumph and leader's jersey for Pöstlberger - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Van Moer solos to first leader's jersey - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 1: Issoire - Issoire - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 2: Brioude - Saugues - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 3: Langeac - Saint-Haon-la-Vieux - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 4: Firminy - Roche-La-Molière - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 6: Loriol-sur-Drôme – Le Sappey-en-Chartreuse - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 7: Saint-Martin-Le-Vinoux - La Plagne - Critérium du Dauphiné 20
More articles