Critérium du Dauphiné 2021 Route stage 7: Saint-Martin-Le-Vinoux - La Plagne

Criterium du Dauphine 2021 stage 7Saturday 5 June - At 171.1 kilometres, the penultimate stage of the Dauphiné travels from Saint-Martin-Le-Vinoux to ski station La Plagne. Following three intermediate climbs the finish climb is a 17.1 kilometres toil at 7.5%.

The first 80 kilometres of the race are nothing special. On flat to undulating terrain the riders travel to Albertville before entering the Alps.

The Côte de Venthon is a warm-up climb of 2.5 kilometres at 4.8%. The route continues to rise gently towards the foot of the Col du Pré. This is when the stage starts to show its teeth. The Pré is a 12.6 kilometres climb at 7.7% with a particularly hard second half.

After an insignificant downhill and 4 kilometres on the flat the riders enter the Cormet de Roselend. This is a 5.7 kilometres test at 6.6%. The Col du Pré/Cormet de Roselend combo returns in the 9th stage of the upcoming Tour de France.

An extended downhill leads to the base of the finish climb. Which is a 17.1 kilometres drag with an average gradient of 7.5%.

Ski resort La Plagne hosted four Tour de France stage finishes, although it has been awhile since Michael Boogerd took the last win in 2002. The Dutchman succeeded Alex Zülle (1995) and Laurent Fignon (1984, 1987).

The first three riders on the line gain time bonuses of 10, 6 and 4 seconds, while the intermediate sprint comes with 3, 2 and 1 seconds.

Another interesting read: results 7th stage 2021 Critérium du Dauphiné.

Critérium du Dauphiné 2021 – stage 7: route, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
GC Favourites - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Overview - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Padun again, Porte seals GC win - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Uphill sprint win Valverde, Lutsenko new leader - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Thomas wins with late attack, Pöstlberger keeps race lead - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Lutsenko wins ITT, Pöstlberger holds on to yellow - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Start times ITT - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Sprint triumph Colbrelli, Pöstlberger keeps race lead - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Solo triumph and leader's jersey for Pöstlberger - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Van Moer solos to first leader's jersey - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 1: Issoire - Issoire - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 2: Brioude - Saugues - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 3: Langeac - Saint-Haon-la-Vieux - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 4: Firminy - Roche-La-Molière - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 5: Saint-Chamond - Saint-Vallier - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 6: Loriol-sur-Drôme – Le Sappey-en-Chartreuse - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 8: La Léchère Les-Bains - Les Gets - Critérium du Dauphiné 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!