Critérium du Dauphiné 2018 Stage 6: Pello Bilbao wins in La Rosière ski station, Geraint Thomas cements GC lead

At merely 110 kilometres, the Dauphiné's 6th stage takes in four climbs and 3,800 vertical metres. Pello Bilbao climbs to victory on the final haul-up to ski station Espace San Bernardo, while Geraint Thomas finishes in second to cement his overall lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 6th stage Critérium du Dauphiné 2018

1. Pello Bilbao (spa)
2. Geraint Thomas (gbr) + 0.21
3. Daniel Martin (irl) + 0.23
4. Romain Bardet (fra) s.t.
5. Adam Yates (gbr) + 0.26
6. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 1.02
7. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) + 1.20
8. Pierre Latour (fra) + 1.40
9. Tao Geoghegan Hart (gbr) + 1.45
10. Valerio Conti (ita) s.t.

13. Damiano Caruso (ita) s.t.
15. Pierre Rolland (fra) s.t.
17. Marc Soler (spa) s.t.
18. Bob Jungels (lux) + 2.27
29. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) + 7.34
37. Vincenzo Nibali (ita) + 11.58

GC after the 6th stage
1. Geraint Thomas (gbr)
2. Adam Yates (gbr) + 1.29
3. Romain Bardet (fra) + 2.01
4. Daniel Martin (irl) + 2.30
5. Damiano Caruso (ita) + 2.39
6. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 3.10
7. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) + 2.24
8. Marc Soler (spa) + 3.40
9. Pierre Latour (fra) + 3.49
10. Pierre Rolland (fra) + 4.00

11. Bob Jungels (lux) + 4.15
12. Tiesj Benoot (bel) + 4.47
13. Antwan Tolhoek (nld) + 4.50
14. Daniel Navarro (spa) + 4.52

Race report
On the first climb, Montée de Bisanne, Warren Barguil strikes and De Gendt, Bilbao, Houle, Gougeard, Herrada, Carretero, Serry, Molard, Power, Verona, Hardy, Moinard, Craddock and Degand join him straight away. KOM-leader Cataldo, Powless, Domont, Courteille, Pöstlberger and Kozhatayev hook on later, followed by Conti, Bookwalter, Boswell and Kochetkov. Pauwels and Grmay are the last riders to bridge across. Gougeard can’t hold the pace and loses contact, as does Kozhatayev.

So 25 men at the front. Cataldo cements his KOM-lead at the top and the peloton reaches the crest 3 minutes later.

On the Col du Pré several riders are dropped in the front group, while Nibali, Kwiatkowski, Moscon and Jungels are off the back in the peloton.

Cataldo once again pockets most KOM-points at the Col du Pré. His company is down to Bilbao, Conti, Carretero, Molard, Boswell, Power, Pauwels, Barguil and Grmay. The remains of the peloton are 1 minute behind.

While climbing the Cormet de Roselend Latour goes after the leaders. Grmay, Boswell, Bilbao and Barguil are first to crest before Molard, Latour, Conti, Carrettero and Power rejoin them on descent. In the main group Romain Bardet puts pressure on Thomas on descent, but his attack is neutralised just before he enters the valley.

The leaders hit the last climb half a minute ahead of the main group. Carrettero waits for Soler and they launch a duo-attack.

With 10 kms to climb Boswell goes solo, but Bilbao goes after him to gobble the American up with 8 kms to go. On the lower slopes Buchmann leaves the main group to rejoin Soler, shortly followed by Dan Martin. Caruso and Jungels can’t follow the pace and are dropped in the peloton.

Adam Yates accelerates with Bardet and Thomas on his wheel. They catch the group Martin, where Soler and Buchmann can’t hold on.

Bilbao leads the favourite group by 30 seconds under the flamme rouge, which is enough for the stage win. Thomas launches an attack in the last kilometre and distances Martin, Bardet and Yates, but does not manage to bridge across to the Basque, who brings the early break home. Thomas gains a few extra seconds though before the final day of action in the high mountains.

Read also: route 6th stage Critérium du Dauphiné 2018

Critérium du Dauphiné 2018 Stage 6: Route maps, height profiles, and more

Click on the images to zoom

Pello Bilbao

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Overview - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Stage 7: Adam Yates wins in shadow Mont Blanc, Thomas pockets overall - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Stage 5: Daniel Martin wins in Valmorel, Geraint Thomas new leader - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Stage 4: Julian Alaphilippe wins uphill, Gianni Moscon new leader - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Stage 3: Sky crushes rivals on TTT, Kwiatkowski back in overall lead - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Stage 2: Sprint victory Ackermann, Impey new leader - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Stage 1: Impey sprints to victory, Kwiatkowski remains leader - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Michal Kwiatkowski first GC leader after prologue win - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route prologue: ITT in Valence - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 1: Valence - Saint-Just-Saint-Rambert - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 2: Montbrison - Belleville (Beaujolais) - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 3: Pont-de-Vaux - Louhans (TTT) - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 4: Chazey-sur-Ain - Lans-en-Vercors - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 5: Grenoble - Valmorel - Critérium du Dauphiné 20 Route stage 7: Moûtiers – Saint-Gervais Mont Blanc - Critérium du Dauphiné 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!