Brabantse Pijl 2024: Cosnefroy bests Teuns and Wellens in seven-up sprint

Benoit Cosnefroy - Brabantse Pijl 2024: Cosnefroy bests Teuns and Wellens in seven-up sprintfoto: Cor VosMarijn van den Berg strikes from a leaf group inside the last 3 kilometres. The Dutchman is caught in the false flat drag to the line before it comes down to a sprint. Benoît Cosnefroy outguns Dylan Teuns and Tim Wellens to take a commanding victory. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 2024 Brabantse Pijl

1. Benoît Cosnefroy (fra)
2. Dylan Teuns (bel) s.t.
3. Tim Wellens (bel) s.t.
4. Joseph Blackmore (gbr) s.t.
5. Jefferson Cepeda (ecu) s.t.
6. Quinten Hermans (bel) s.t.
7. Marijn van den Berg (nld) + 0.10
8. Michael Matthews (aus) + 0.28
9. Vito Braet (bel) s.t.
10. Corbin Strong (nzl) s.t.

Race report
It takes almost 50 kilometres before the breakaway takes shape. Then Alan Riou, Nicolas Debeaumarché, Jens Reynders, Dylan Vandenstorme, Lorrenzo Manzin and Anders Halland Johannessen jump off the front, while Jordi Warlop and Tomas Kopecky bridge across. The peloton keeps chasing for awhile, but eventually the gap goes out to almost 2 minutes.

The eight are caught on the local lap, with 68 kilometres left to race. Alec Segaert, Andreas Leknessund and Antoine Huby give it a go before the first crossing of the finish line.

Attacks keep flying in the first full lap until Benoît Cosnefroy, Søren Kragh Andersen and Axel Laurance replace Segaert at the helm. The Belgian rider doesn’t give in and he regains contact with Antonio Morgado, Dries De Pooter, Lawson Craddock and Frank van den Broek. Stephen Williams makes it across with a strong solo effort.

It’s invain, as it all comes together before the Hertstraat, with 37 kilometres remaining.

Dylan Teuns speeds up at the Moskesstraat and Tim Wellens and Marijn van den Berg go with him. The trio crosses the finish line for the last lap with a 25 seconds lead.

Marijn van den Berg sets the pace on the last drag up the Moskesstraat. The other two cling on, but the peloton is close behind. Quinten Hermans bridges across on the flat after the summit before Benoît Cosnefroy closes the gap down on the Holstheide climb. Jefferson Cepeda and Joseph Blackmore make it seven at the front inside the last 7 kilometres.

Van den Berg distances the others with 3 kilometre to go, but he meets the man with the hammer in the last kilometre, and the race comes down to a sprint. Cosnefroy takes a commanding victory ahead of Teuns and Wellens.

Other interesting reads: route and start list 2024 Brabantse Pijl.

Brabantse Pijl 2024: video, route, profile

Click on the images to zoom

Benoît Cosnefroy

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles
Overview - Brabantse Pijl 2024 Winners and records - Brabantse Pijl
More articles