Benelux Tour 2021: Solo triumph Mohoric, Colbrelli wins GC

matej mohoric bt - Benelux Tour 2021: Solo triumph Mohoric, Colbrelli wins GCfoto: Cor VosMatej Mohoric solos to victory in the final stage of the Benelux Tour, while Sonny Colbrelli seals the GC win. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 7th stage Benelux Tour 2021

1. Matej Mohoric (slo)
2. Sonny Colbrelli (ita) + 0.11
3. Tom Dumoulin (nld) + 0.15
4. Christophe Laporte (fra) + 0.22
5. Fred Wright (gbr) s.t.
6. Danny van Poppel (nld) + 0.24
7. Tom Van Asbroeck (bel) s.t.
8. Greg Van Avermaet (bel) s.t.
9. Tiesj Benoot (bel) s.t.
10. Peter Sagan (svk) s.t.

Final GC after stage 7
1. Sonny Colbrelli (ita)
2. Matej Mohoric (slo) + 0.29
3. Victor Campenaerts (bel) + 1.14
4. Tim wellens (bel) + 1.26
5. Stefan Küng (swi) + 1.28
6. Luke Durbridge (aus) + 1.30
7. Jasper Stuyven (bel) + 1.37
8. Tiesj Benoot (bel) + 1.54
9. Tom Dumoulin (nld) + 1.55
10. Mike Teunissen (nld) + 2.01

Race report
Oscar Riesebeek, Philippe Gilbert, Daniel Oss and Casper Pedersen open up a gap after one hour of hard racing. Dries Devenyns, Tosh Van der Sande, Hugo Houle, Jenthe Biermans, Barnabas Péak, Reinhardt Janse van Rensburg and Toms Skujins rejoin them. The lead of the eleven hardy exceeds 1 minute before they are brought back in the first lap around Geraardsbergen.

After the second ascent of the Muur van Geraardsbergen Mohoric, Campenaerts, McNulty and Asgreen are the new leaders. They open up a gap of 1 minute.

McNulty can’t follow the pace inside the last 31 kilometres before the other three are caught on the last climb up the Muur.

Mohoric goes again and he reaches the summit in first position. Wellens, Asgreen and Colbrelli are close behind.

The Slovene gains three times 3 seconds in the Golden Kilometre, while Asgreen and Colbrelli drop Wellens on the Bosberg. The other two are brought back by a chasing group.

Dumoulin accelerates at the Denderoordberg with Colbrelli in his wheel.

Mohoric forges on to victory and wins the race ahead of Colbrelli and Dumoulin. The Italian wins the overall.

Another interesting read: route 7th stage 2021 Benelux Tour.

Benelux Tour 2021 – stage 7: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Benelux Tour 20 Colbrelli solos into leader's jersey in Ardennes - Benelux Tour 20 Sprint triumph Ewan, Küng new leader - Benelux Tour 20 Sprint victory Merlier, Bissegger keeps GC lead - Benelux Tour 20 Van der Hoorn wins from breakaway, Bissegger still leader - Benelux Tour 20 Bissegger moves into GC lead with ITT win - Benelux Tour 20 Start times Lelystad ITT - Benelux Tour 20 Merlier wins echelon-marked 1st stage - Benelux Tour 20 stage 1: Surhuisterveen - Dokkum - Benelux Tour 20 stage 2: ITT Lelystad - Benelux Tour 20 stage 3: Essen - Hoogerheide - Benelux Tour 20 stage 4: Aalter - Ardooie - Benelux Tour 20 stage 5: Riemst - Bilzen - Benelux Tour 20 stage 6: Ottignies - Houffalize - Benelux Tour 20 stage 7: Namen - Geraardsbergen - Benelux Tour 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!