Benelux Tour 2021: Merlier wins echelon-marked 1st stage

tim merlier bt 1 2021 - Benelux Tour 2021: Merlier wins echelons raceimage: Cor VosEchelons pep up the action in the 1st stage of the Benelux Tour before Tim Merlier powers to victory in the streets of Dokkum. The Flemish sprinters is the first leader on GC. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 1st stage Benelux Tour 2021

1. Tim Merlier (bel)
2. Phil Bauhaus (ger) s.t.
3. Álvaro Hodeg (col) s.t.
4. Fernando Gaviria (col) s.t.
5. Mads Pedersen (den) s.t.
6. Danny van Poppel (nld) s.t.
7. Max Walscheid (ger) s.t.
8. Stanislaw Aniolkowski (pol) s.t.
9. Mike Teunissen (nld) s.t.
10. Christophe Laporte (fra) s.t.

GC after stage 1
1. Tim Merlier (bel)
2. Phil Bauhaus (ger) + 0.04
3. Álvaro Hodeg (col) + 0.06
4. Mike Teunissen (nld) s.t.
5. Matehj Mohoric (slo) s.t.
6. Tiesj Benoot (bel) + 0.07
7. Lukas Pöstlberger (aut) s.t.
8. Sonny Colbrelli (ita) + 0.08
9. Kasper Asreen (den) s.t.
10 Fernando Gaviria (col) + 0.10

12. Mads Pedersen (den) s.t.
18. Oliver Naesen (bel) s.t.
19. Stefan Küng (swi) s.t.
22. Wilco Kelderman (nld) s.t.
24. Tim Wellens (bel) s.t.
25. Stefan Bissegger (swi) s.t.
27. Luke Durbridge (aus) s.t.
31. Jasper Stuyven (bel) s.t.
35. Iván García (spa) + 1.07
41. Søren Kragh Andersen (den) s.t.
52. Tom Dumoulin (nld) s.t.
56. Gianni Moscon (ita) s.t.
57. Greg Van Avermaet (Bel s.t.
67. Renco evenepoel (bel) s.t.
71. Marc Hirschi (swi) s.t.
88. Geraint Thomas (gbr) s.t.
109. Peter Sagan (slo) + 2.39

Race report
The breakaway features Julien Duval, Logan Owen, Guillaume Boivin, Luke Durbridge, Ward Vanhoof, Arjen Livyns and Ludovic Robeet. The seven carve out a lead of 4 minutes, while Jakob Fugslang crashes hard in the peloton and he is forced to pull out.

Crosswinds split the peloton on the exposed roads on the Dutch northcoast. The first echelon – featuring Tim Wellens, Matej Mohoric, Tim Merlier, Danny van Poppel, Tiesj Benoot, Remco Evenepoel, Kasper Asgreen, Sonny Colbrelli, Alvaro Hodeg, Max Walscheid, Cees Bol, Peter Sagan, Stefan Küng, Campenaerts, Jasper Stuyven, Fernando Gaviria, Wilco Kelderman, Phil Bauhaus, Mike Teunissen and Oliver Naesen – gobbles up the attackers before Evenepoel suffers a mechanical and winds up in echelon 3. Sagan also loses contact after a crash.

Merlier wins the sprint of the 1st echelon, while the 2nd echelon crosses the line almost 1 minute later.

Another interesting read: route 1st stage 2021 Benelux Tour.

Benelux Tour 2021 – stage 1: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Overview - Benelux Tour 20 Solo triumph Mohoric, Colbrelli wins GC - Benelux Tour 20 Colbrelli solos into leader's jersey in Ardennes - Benelux Tour 20 Sprint triumph Ewan, Küng new leader - Benelux Tour 20 Sprint victory Merlier, Bissegger keeps GC lead - Benelux Tour 20 Van der Hoorn wins from breakaway, Bissegger still leader - Benelux Tour 20 Bissegger moves into GC lead with ITT win - Benelux Tour 20 Start times Lelystad ITT - Benelux Tour 20 stage 1: Surhuisterveen - Dokkum - Benelux Tour 20 stage 2: ITT Lelystad - Benelux Tour 20 stage 3: Essen - Hoogerheide - Benelux Tour 20 stage 4: Aalter - Ardooie - Benelux Tour 20 stage 5: Riemst - Bilzen - Benelux Tour 20 stage 6: Ottignies - Houffalize - Benelux Tour 20 stage 7: Namen - Geraardsbergen - Benelux Tour 20
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!