Tour of California: Winners and records

egan bernal - Tour of California: Recent WinnersThe Tour of California is a relatively new race, beginning in 2006. In a short period of time it has become the most prestigious stage race in the United States. presents the race winners since that first edition.

Winners Tour of California

2018: Egan Bernal (col)
2017: George Bennett (nzl)
2016: Julian Alaphilippe (fra)
2015: Peter Sagan (svk)
2014: Bradley Wiggins (gbr)

Records Tour of California

Levi Leipheimer has 3 GC wins in 8 editions of the Tour of California, what makes him the clear record holder. The retired rider is 2 wins ahead of relative youngsters Robert Gesink (May 31, 1986) and Tejay van Garderen (August 12, 1988), who could catch up with him in upcoming years.

Peter Sagan has the most stage victories in California with 16 wins in total. He also took 5 out of 8 available stages in the 2012 edition.

Chris Horner is the oldest winner of the Tour of California. In 2011 he was 39 years of age when he topped the GC.

Tour of California: Images and more

Click on the images to zoom

Peter SaganTejay van GarderenJulian AlaphilippeEgan Bernal

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles

More articles