Tour de France 2020: Peters solos to victory, Yates stays in yellow

The caravan ventures into the Pyrenees with breakaway boy Nans Peters soloing to victory. Tadej Pogacar is the best GC rider after an attack on the last climb, while Adam Yates stays in the GC lead. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 8th stage Tour de France 2020

1. Nans Peters (fra)
2. Toms Skujins (lat) + 0.47
3. Carlos Verona (spa) s.t.
4. Ilnur Zakarin (rus) + 1.09
5. Neilson Powless (usa) + 1.41
6. Ben Hermans (bel) + 3.42
7. Quentin Pacher (fra) s.t.
8. Søren Kragh Andersen (den) + 4.04
9. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 6.00
10. Romain Bardet (fra) + 6.38

11. Miguel Ángel López (col) + 6.40
12. Adam Yates (gbr) s.t.
13. Egan Bernal (col) s.t.
14. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.
15. Guillaume Martin (fra) s.t.
16. Primoz Roglic (slo) s.t.
17. Nairo Quintana (col) s.t.
18. Rigoberto Uran (col) s.t.
20. Enric Mas (spa) + 7.18
22. Bauke Mollema (nld) s.t.
23. Richard Carapaz (ecu) s.t.
25. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 7.43
26. Esteban Chaves (col) s.t.
28. Sergio Higuita (col) + 8.47
30. Tom Dumoulin (nld) s.t.
64. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 25.23

GC after stage 8
1. Adam Yates (gbr)
2. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 0.03
3. Guillaume Martin (fra) + 0.09
4. Romain Bardet (fra) + 0.11
5. Egan Bernal (col) + 0.13
6. Nairo Quintana (col) s.t.
7. Miguel Ángel López (col) s.t.
8. Rigoberto Uran (col) s.t.
9. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 0.48
10. Enric Mas (spa) + 1.00

11. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 1.25
12. Mikel Landa (spa) + 1.34
13. Richie Porte (aus) + 1.34
14. Bauke Mollema (nld) + 2.12
15. Tom Dumoulin (nld) + 2.20
16. Esteban Chaves (Col ) + 2.37
17. Richard Carapaz (ecu) + 2.40
30. Thibaut Pinot (fra) + 18.56

Race report
Søren Kragh Andersen is the first attacker and KOM leader Benoît Cosnefroy, Fabien Grellier, Ilnur Zakarin, Nans Peters, Neilson Powless, Quinten Pacher, Jérôme Cousin, Ben Hermans, Michael Mørkøv, Carlos Verona, Kévin Reza and Toms Skujins go with him. The thirteen open a gap of 14 minutes.

Cousin goes solo underway to the Port de Balès. A group of eight riders rejoin him on the climb, while Peters, Zakarin and Pacher push on. The latter drops back into the chasing group with Powless, Skujins, Verona, Hermans en Kragh Andersen.

Meanwhile, Pinot is dropped from the peloton.

Peters and Zakarin reach the summit 40 seconds ahead of Kragh Andersen, Powless, Verona and Skujins. The main group is 10 minutes behind with Pinot another 7 minutes behind.

Peters goes solo in the descent and he hits the Peyresourde half a minute ahead of Zakarin. The two almost reunite 3 kilometres before the top, but the Russian rider can’t make the final jump.

Pogacar attacks in the peloton, while Roglic and Quintana bridge across. When more riders regain contact Pogacar gives it another go. Now he is gone for real and he puts 1 minute into the chasers.

While Peters extends his lead in the descent, Zakarin is overhauled by Skujins and Verona. The Frenchman powers to the best victory of his career.

Pogacar stays out front and Bardet puts pressure on Yates with a late attack, which gains him 2 seconds. The Briton remains the race leader, still 3 seconds ahead of Roglic and 9 seconds ahead of Martin.

Other interesting reads:
KOM classification
points classification

Tour de France 2020 stage 8: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Nans Peters

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 8: Fast descenders in first Pyrenees race - Tour de France 2020 The Route - Tour de France 2020 Riders - Tour de France 2020 Withdrawals - Tour de France 2020 Results - Tour de France 2020 GC Favourites - Tour de France 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!