Tour de France 2020: Van Aert wins thrilling race, Yates still in yellow

The 7th stage of the Tour de France is an exciting race from start to finish. Van Aert sprints to triumph in a small group. While Pogacar, Landa, Mollema, Carapaz and Porte lose time, Yates finishes safely in the first group to stay in the maillot jaune. (Slideshow route/profile)

Results 7th stage Tour de France 2020

1. Wout van Aert (bel)
2. Edvald Boasson Hagen (nor) s.t.
3. Bryan Coquard (fra) s.t.
4. Christophe Laporte (fra) s.t.
5. Jasper Stuyven (bel) s.t.
6. Clément Venturini (fra) s.t.
7. Hugo Hofstetter (fra) s.t.
8. Egan Bernal (col) s.t.
9. Adam Yates (gbr) s.t.
10. Alejandro Valverde (fra) s.t.

43. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 1.21
46. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.
51. Richard Carapaz (ecu) s.t.
58. Esteban Chaves (col) s.t.
59. Bauke Mollema (nld) s.t.

GC after stage 7
1. Adam Yates (gbr)
2. Primoz Roglic (slo) + 0.03
3. Guillaume Martin (fra) + 0.09
4. Egan Bernal (col) + 0.13
5. Tom Dumoulin (nld) s.t.
6. Nairo Quintana (col) s.t.
7. Romain Bardet (fra) s.t.
8. Miguel Ángel López (col) s.t.
9. Thibaut Pinot (fra) s.t.
10. Rigoberto Uran (col) s.t.

11. Julian Alaphilippe (fra) + 0.15
12. Emanuel Buchmann (ger) + 0.22
15. Sergio Higuita (col) + 0.41
16. Tadej Pogacar (slo) + 1.28
17. Esteban Chaves (col) + 1.34
18. Bauke Mollema (nld) s.t.
19. Mikel Landa (spa) s.t.
21. Richard Carapaz (ecu) + 2.02

Race report
KOM leader Cosnefroy is the first attacker. But BORA-hansgrohe keeps riding hard and Cosnefroy is reeled in on the first KOM climb at kilometre 9.

The peloton splits and Sagan’s rivals for the green jersey lose contact. A group with Ewan, Kristoff, Viviani, Bol, Greipel and Nizzolo is the first on the ropes, while a group with green jersey Bennett is more resilient. But eventually the Irishman is also distanced.

Thomas De Gendt goes solo after taking the KOM points at Col de Peyronnenc. The effort of the Flemish attacker lasts almost 40 kilometres.

Ineos puts down the hammer and the peloton breaks inside the last 33 kilometres. Pogacar, Porte, Landa, Chaves and Mollema lose contact with the first group, while Carapaz is also forced to chase after a mechanical.

Van Aert sprints to victory ahead of Boasson Hagen and Coquard. Sagan gets boxed in when the sprint kicks in and finishes in thirteenth position.

Other interesting reads:
KOM classification
points classification

Tour de France 2020 stage 7: routes, profiles, more

Click on the images to zoom

Wout van Aert

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Related articles
Favourites stage 7: Sprint stage with echelon threat - Tour de France 2020 The Route - Tour de France 2020 Riders - Tour de France 2020 Withdrawals - Tour de France 2020 Results - Tour de France 2020 GC Favourites - Tour de France 2020
More articles
Like our Facebook page and stay on top of all pro-race information!