Ruta del Sol: Winners and records

Tadej pogacar rds - Ruta del Sol: Winners and recordsimage: Cor VosEach year in February, the Ruta del Sol is held in the deep south of Spain. After a first edition in 1925 it lasted until 1955 for the race - also called the Vuelta a Andalucía - to really take off. brings you recent winners and records.

Recent winners Ruta del Sol

2024: ?
2023: Tadej Pogacar (slo)
2022: Wout Poels (nld)
2021: Miguel Ángel López (col)
2020: Jakob Fuglsang (den)
2019: Jakob Fuglsang (den)
2018: Tim Wellens (bel)
2017: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2016: Alejandro Valverde (spa)
2015: Chris Froome (gbr)

Records Ruta del Sol

Alejandro Valverde feels right at home in Andalucia. He did win the race in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017, which makes him record holder in terms of GC triumphs.

Furthermore, he took eight stage wins, making him almost record holder in that respect also. With nine stage wins, Óscar Freire is the only rider in history who performed better at the Ruta del Sol.

Chris FroomeAlejandro ValverdeTim WellensWout PoelsMiguel Angel LopezJakob FuglsangTadej Pogacar

Watch the highlights of recent races here:
Leave a comment
No comments yet, your opinion is most welcome.

Related articles

More articles